Collioure, Languedoc-Roussillon

Walk to historic Mediterranean village, fish port and beaches from our comfy...

About our home

Colourful Collioure is one of France's most beautiful small fishing ports. The village is at the foothills of the Pyrenees, within easy distance of the departmental capital, Perpignan and the Spanish frontier (26km). Girona, Figueres (Dali), Barcelona, Carcassonne, Toulouse, Andorra, Montpelier: all are less than 2 hours away.
Its our own apartment for use by other family members and some rentals and as such is well equipped for a second home though it doesn't have a dishwasher. Fridge/freezer, washing machine, oven, kettle, toaster, TV (French and Spanish channels), DVD etc etc.
It is a 3-minute car drive or 14-minute stroll to the centre of our little village. Lots of restaurants, bars, and the usual shops and amenities. Two picturesque weekly markets. Fresh fish on the harbour most mornings, boat excursions up and down the Catalan coast. Train and bus services to nearby destinations. Collioure is known for its painters: Picasso, Derain and Matisse were here and today it still attracts budding artists. They say it's the light but we say it is just because it is so pretty! In summer, we head for the beaches, enjoy evening shows, concerts, fireworks or walk up into the vine-clad hills.
We are a Franco-British couple of retirees, have (and still do) travelled the world for both business and pleasure. We have lived in Collioure for 18 years now. Our tastes, furniture, books, decorative elements and music reflect our travelling lifestyle. We have no pets or young kids in the family! We're happy to send photos of the area and have restaurant, winery and sightseeing recommendations when you need them. We have another small apartment in Andalucia, 7km behind the town of Marbella. It has stunning views and it as great base for exploring that area too. Contact us: we are happy to send info.
We'd love to exchange with European cities, Mexican coastal apartments, coastal South Africa, coastal Canada, southern India or Southeast Asia. Tempt us! We're open to new areas

This is a quiet suburban neighbourhood. You get to see the neighbours though in the apartment building, there are not many in the winter or spring. It is an easy walk to the village and to the shops though most people tend to drive. Parking right outside the apartment. There are short cuts along the river and down to the centre of the village. But if you want some more rigorous exercise, you can head the other way and up into the vineyards, climbing through and up to the nearest peak, Madeloc. Needless to say, the views are amazing.
Apart from that, we tend to use Collioure as a springboard for the other villages, the medieval towns in the area, and visits down the coast and into Spain. We'd often go down for lunch at the weekend. Or for a swim in summer as the beaches are just... a bit different.
Public transport? Not much! People walk to the village. However, there is scheduled bus and train transport to the Spanish border or, in the other direction, to the regional capital, Perpignan. There is a regional airport here (not much use: we use Girona, 75mins away in Spain) for most of our short excursions in Europe.
This apartment suits a single person or a couple. The village has facilities for children, of course, but is not one that suits adolescents unless they are sporty.

We're retired! And took early retirement so we can enjoy life. My French husband was a university lecturer for years and commuted to work in Germany. I am a photojournalist specialising in travel and have written lots of guide books in the last 15 years. Now I try to paint (as yet not very successfully). We love travelling, classical music, reading, going to concerts, spending time at the sea, swimming, snorkelling, looking at art galleries (me more than my husband) and will walk in historic cities and countryside for hours on end. We love talking to new people and enjoy the linguistic challenges. We're fluent in French, English, and German and pretty good in Spanish and Italian. Afterward those languages, we're down to phrases and a lot of mime. We have family in the UK, Australia, South Africa and Germany all of whom we visit from time to time. Thus we'd like to exchange non simultaneously as well as simultaneously, if that suits.

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available
  • Low season
  • High season

Features

  • Main home
  • Balcony
  • No pets

Property Map

+ -

In the Know