The best of both worlds - easy access to Sydney and beautiful south coast of New South Wales

The best of both worlds - easy access to Sydney and beautiful south coast of New South Wales




Jan 2008

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 3
3 Bathrooms

About our home

Our home is eight years old with very modern features including reverse-cycle air-conditioning. It has been constructed with many natural materials and has a 'warm', stylish feel about it. There are three bedrooms and two bathrooms upstairs, as well as a study and two living areas, and a large outside deck (with a good view of local woodlands). Downstairs is a large guest room / retreat and third bathroom, as well a double garage. Our back garden is quite compact but very private. The gardens contain many beautiful Australian native plants.

Our home is located in a very attractive, quiet, 'leafy' neighbourhood. The suburb of Figtree is in the beautiful Illawarra region ('Sydney's South Coast'). 12 minutes drive to pristine, safe (golden sand) swimming beaches. 75 minutes (North) by car/90 mins by train to Sydney CBD. 50 minutes by car or train to Royal National Park (great forest walks). 90 minutes drive (South) to spectacular Jervis Bay Marine Park.
The Illawarra region has high quality tourism amenities, including excellent restaurants, theatres, sight-seeing and adventure activities, quality retail outlets. Mild, sunny coastal climate. Ocean swimming for a large part of the year (our previous home-exchangers from England swam throughout August).

John and Jane are both economic development managers. Our children are all independent adults now (grandchildren are just beginning to arrive). We are interested in art, literature, theatre, music and history, and enjoy walking and exploring the natural environment. Our demanding jobs prevent us from taking long holidays but we are determined to travel as much as possible. We are very friendly and flexible. Our previous home exchange experiences (France, England, Ireland) have been very successful. We are keen to make a big effort to help our exchangers have a great holiday in our exciting country. We are likely to be attending a conference in Colorado in June 2008, so this is a major factor in determining our destination and preferred dates. We would certainly consider a range of locations in the USA.


Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like