Charming house with a beautiful garden

Charming house with a beautiful garden


Last login

Over a month

Member since

September 2011

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 7
3 Bathrooms

About our home

Our house was built in 1927, very early for Australia, but has been completely renovated with a new kitchen and bathrooms. We love the ambiance of the garden, the complete privacy of the enclosed front garden and the pool which is not overlooked. The garden attracts many species of Australian birds. The house is filled with light most of the day, and all rooms look onto the garden. The house is very comfortable with air-conditioning for both heating and cooling. Our kitchen is the scene of many a party as it has all that is required. We have a completely fitted separate laundry, with all new appliances, just off the kitchen.
The house is furnished with family antiques and you will find many souvenirs and artworks from our overseas travels.
Our suburb is one of the oldest on the northern side of Sydney, and we are very close to the train. The station is at the end of the street and it takes about 40 minutes to travel to the centre of Sydney, by regular train service.
Sydney is one of the most vibrant small cities in the world with a harbour that is truely astonishing. It is wonderful to be so close to the city but have a refuge to come back home to.
We have two cars, one is very small, just for shopping really, but quite adequate to get you to the local shops, less than 5 minutes drive away. Here you will find all you need. You can buy great Australian produce, and cook it in our very well-equipped kitchen. We love to cook and entertain. We have an outside covered entertaining area with a BBQ, powered by town gas.
If you don't want to cook, there are many cafes in the area and some great Asian restaurants, especially Thai and Japanese. Also there are some wonderful up-market restaurants. Of course, Sydney has a reputation for very innovative cooking, and we are happy to let you know where the buzz is at the moment.
If you need exercise, after all this good food, there are local public tennis courts and golf clubs. Also there are gyms nearby.
The house is well placed for access the coast. It is about 30 minutes drive to the Northern beaches with their spectacular views, national parks, and course the surf.
We also have very good access to other routes that lead to major tourist areas such as the Blue Mountains, west of Sydney, and the Hunter Valley wine district to the north. Our other car will come in handy for longer trips, either day trips or overnight stays. We are of course able to help with any queries.
We are offering our house for the cooler months of May, June, and July. However you should be aware that the climate in our part of Sydney Australia, is never as cold as Europe. We never even get a frost! Also our house would be a very good base from which to explore other parts of Australia such as the Red Centre or the Barrier Reef as the Australian summer is not the best time to visit these areas.
You will find that Sydney is a wonderful place to visit in the cooler months. There are many activities in town and we will help you to discover them.

We welcome children if they are over 12 years and can swim. Our pool is not fenced. We are non-smokers, so please don't smoke in the house! You are welcome to smoke outside.

We are a retired couple, Geoff and Angela, who have many interests. This is reflected in the books, music and films in the house. We are English speaking but also have some French, as Angela is learning the language.


More about us

  1. We are a retired couple who have traveled to many countries in the world.

  2. We have family in USA and in Australia, and we were born in England

  3. We are interested in staying in France as Angela is learning French and will be on a course in Provence next june.

Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?


Buzzy restaurants
Local; Ad Lib, Pymble, Reel on Redleaf, Wahroonga
Cool bars
Opera Bar Circular Quay, Sydney, must go
Cozy cafés
Go to places with terraces, in Sydney, be out of doors
Retail therapy
David Jones, Westfield Plaza City, Lemon Grove Chatswood
Bit of culture
SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE for anything!
Walks in the park
Kur-ring-gai WildFlower Garden
Spot of exercise
Jogging on the beach at Dee Why
Day tripping
Hunter Valley Wine District, Blue Mountains, Hawkesbury River

You may also like