Between City and Surf in Sydney's waterside eastern Suburbs

Between City and Surf in Sydney's waterside eastern Suburbs




Nov 2008

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
2 Bathrooms

About our home

LOOKING for exchanges in UK, France Italy in June-July 2017-18 .
Detached house with garden, near to shops and bus, rail and ferry. The house is in Queens Park, 1-2 km from famous Bondi and other ocean and harbour beaches, 3 km/13 minutes/4 metro stops from central Sydney, or a short ferry ride to Circular Quay, the Bridge and Opera House. Also within walking distance of stunning Centennial Park, and close to a major shopping complex. It's a walkers' paradises.
Located in Bourke Street, it is a two-storey, house with 3 double bedrooms. In front on street level there is a small walled garden with a frangipani tree and hanging baskets. The hallway leads to two double bedrooms and a lounge with shutters, itself leading into a separate dining room with a Juliet balcony, and a gourmet galley kitchen of recycled timber, and a bathroom with bathtub.
Through half-doors from the kitchen you reach a spacious deck with sun awning among the subtropical trees, looking down on the small back garden. From the dining room you descend to the lower level (the house is built on a slope), which has a large lounge with TV (84 cm LCD), and with French doors across its entire width, opening on to a tiled patio and a small garden planted with a lemon tree, passion fruit and subtropical plants. It is ideal for outside dining in the summer. Also downstairs is a second double bedroom and bathroom/laundry. And a single portable bed.
My 2011 Toyota Corolla could be included in the swap.

The house is near to both surf and calmer harbour beaches and you can get a tan even in winter! The nearest is fashionable Tamarama (about 2 km), which has a nice cafe. You can walk to it in 20 minutes, but it is best to drive and park.
The famous Bondi beach is 3 km away; wonderful for people-watching and strolling along the one-kilometre promenade. My car gives you FREE parking at Bondi, saving you $8 an hour!
Bondi is a happening place but, if your preference is for something quieter, there is the protected Clovelly Beach, situated in a narrow inlet, 15 minutes' drive away. It has a free parking and free swimming pool. From Clovelly try the a 5-km walk along the coastal cliffs to Bondi. Or you can go the other way from Clovelly along a path hugging the shoreline to Coogee beach (4 km away).
Try too the harbour beaches: Lady Jane (nudist) and trendy Camp Cove in Watson's Bay. There is also a harbour-side walk called the Hermitage Walk that takes you past beautiful, never-crowded little beaches such as Milk Beach and Queens.
Other attractions within walking distance are the beautiful Centennial Park, with its palm trees, subtropical flowers and plants (including a rose garden), black swans, cockatoos and ibis. It is 4 km to walk the circuit of the park. Fox Studios are just nearby, and you can park there free for two hours. This is worth a visit on a Wednesday, when a boutique food growers' market is held. Also within walking distance is the Sydney Cricket Ground, other sports stadiums, and the Royal Randwick Racecourse. For golfers there is a choice of courses, situated on spectacular coastal cliff sites. The house is only 7-10 minutes' walk from Bondi Junction shopping complex, with its station and bus terminal. It takes about 10-12 minutes to get to central Sydney by train, perhaps 20-25 minutes by bus. It's great drive to Rose Bay (12 minutes) and catch the harbour ferry into Circular Quay, the ferry terminus in the city. You can walk to the city too.

I am a retired journalist. With my late wife I enjoyed 15 home swaps since 2004 and I am now looking for more.
In addition to international swaps I am also interested in short-term swaps within Australia. I am currently looking at the 2016 northern hemisphere summer (May to September): France, Spain, Italy or anywhere else tempting in Europe. I would be joined by friends for a few days , or even some of my family. The exchange does not have to be simultaneous,


More about us

  1. I am a widower, retired journalist

  2. 15 successful swaps in UK, Feance and Italy and other regions of Austtralia

  3. My home is Great for exploring Sydney and its beaches; nice place to come home to

Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?


Cool bars
Icebergs Club, Bondi Beach
Retail therapy
Sydney CBD (4 metro stops away); Bondi Junction shops 5 mins walk
Bit of culture
Opera House; theatre; ballet;
Walks in the park
Centennial Park very close. 4kms walk cicuit
Day tripping
Blue Mountains, numerous beaches

You may also like