House in leafy area 11km to city, harbour, Opera House. Walk to shops + restaurants.

House in leafy area 11km to city, harbour, Opera House. Walk to shops + restaurants.




Jan 2008

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 4
2 Bathrooms

About our home

Our house is in a cul de sac, so there is no through traffic. It is a 1940’s brick house that has been fully renovated with timber floorboards throughout. The back living area of our house opens up onto our small (by Aussie standards) garden. There is a paved area as well as grass and it’s perfect for dining outside during our long summer nights, and big enough for energetic kids.

The main bedroom has a very comfortable new king size bed, and our daughter’s bedroom has a new king single bed with a second king single on wheels underneath it. If required the second bed can be raised to the same level to form one large bed. We also have a queen size aero bed which can fit in the study or lounge room. We might also be able to organise a cot if required. The third bedroom is now an office, as I work from home. It has a large screen Mac and cable broadband.

Our modern kitchen opens on to the living area. We have 2 bathrooms - the main one has a bath, shower and toilet, and the second bathroom/laundry has a shower and toilet.

The lounge room is at the front of the house with leather lounges and the TV. We also have a piano and have gas heating throughout the house for the winter.

We are very house proud and our home is comfortable and clean. We would treat your home with respect, and would expect the same in return. Definitely no smokers or pets please.

Our home is on Sydney’s lower North Shore and is leafy, quiet and home to young families and professionals. It has a village atmosphere and is safe and friendly. Our neighbourhood is quiet and family friendly and is only a 10 minute drive or bus ride to the city, Opera House, bridge, art gallery, shops, theatres, etc. The bus stop is a 1 minute walk from our house and there are frequent express buses into the city. We are also a 5 minute drive from Greenwich where you can catch a ferry into the city - a great way to see the waterfront homes, go under the harbour bridge and arrive at Circular Quay and the Opera House.

There are many parks/playgrounds near by and Lane Cove National Park. There are bush walks, cycle paths, a golf course, and an aquatic and leisure centre with indoor and outdoor pools and a gym. There are village shops 2 minutes drive or a 10 minute walk away. 5 minutes drive or 15 minutes walk in the other direction is the main shopping area with cafes, restaurants, a large supermarket, fish shop, cake shops, bakeries, clothes shops etc. There’s also the Longueville Hotel/Pub with a great new dining area and menu.

Chatswood is a 10 minute drive and has shopping malls and all the major department stores as well as cinemas and restaurants. The historic suburb of Hunters Hill is also the same distance from us, with beautiful homes, lovely walks and the famous Woolwich Pier Hotel. It boasts fantastic food as well as an amazing view of the harbour and city.

An easy 30 minute drive are famous Bondi beach. The less crowded beaches on the north side are also about 30 minutes.

Motorways are only a few minutes from our house - to bypass the city, or head out of town. The vineyards of the Hunter Valley are less than 2 hours - an easy day trip, as are the Blue Mountains, which are only an hour away. Beautiful Port Stephens is just over a couple of hours north - go to swim in the clear blue ocean, or see the dolphins or watch the whales. Airport is 1/2 hr drive

We are in our 40’s and our daughter is 4 years old. I am a freelance graphic designer and artist who works from home. My husband works at a 5 star hotel in the city. Our daughter is a delightful and well behaved pre-schooler. We have been together since we were teenagers and have travelled extensively in the past, but have slowed down considerably since we became a family. We're hoping to venture out again with the help of a house swap or 2. We are responsible and reliable people who would treat your home with respect.


Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like