Large city mansion with garden in the city center

Large city mansion with garden in the city center

Joost

 

This is a super-member. They're experienced home swappers or the fastest responders.

Joined

Jun 2012


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

7 Bedrooms
Sleeps 12
3 Bathrooms

About our home

Our house is a renovated (mostly by ourselves) late 19th century city mansion, with a large living/eating/open kitchen area of about 65 m2 with a fireplace, five bedrooms, a study/spare bedroom with double bed, a second living room with a fire place, a wellness area, a play attic for children, a large veranda (32m2), a roof terrace (12m2) and a south-oriented garden of about 100m2, closed in with whitewashed walls. The garden has a terrace corner and a barbecue for the grown-ups and a swing for the children. The first floor has a large bathroom with shower and tub, downstairs there is a toilet. The second floor has a wellness space that includes a sauna, rain shower, a bath tub and a toilet. The sousterrain is a more or less separate floor, with a bedroom, a bathroom and toilet plus an open laundry space including a wine cellar underneath. We are open for exchange of the car as well, but in case we opt for leaving by car, our garage place is available, too. We leave at your disposal two bikes with child seats and two (small) child bicycles plus, if needed, an add-on bike that can be pulled by one of the adult bicycles. When it is sunny, even in case outside it is not warm, our veranda can become an ad-hoc subtropical splashing pool if you just inflate a swimming pool for the children.
Hopefully you may find our home as comfortable as we find it ourselves.

Features

Joost's reviews (2)

More about us

  1. We are a Dutch-Romanian couple with two young daughters (12 and 10 years old), living our lives in the mixture of three cultures and discovering new places every year. We travel less `lightly` than before the children and therefore we can appreciate the advantages of exchanging houses with people in a similar situation. We promise to take good care of your house, as we hope you will take care of ours. We would also be very thankful for the presence of guests who can feed our two cats when we are on holidays, but if the cats are inconvenient, we can make other arrangements for them. We are looking forward to your exchange propositions.

    PS. We have exchanged houses for four summer holidays and four short trips so far, all lovely.

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

The house is situated in a quiet street a little off the bustling centre, but within walk/bike/short public transportation distance from it. The trams stop around the corner. At 50 meters (literally on the corner of the street) there is a parc with a playground, while there are supermarkets and all sorts of other shops 300 meters in the opposite direction.
Antwerp is well-known for its shopping area, rich cultural history and its architecture, but we would definitely recommend the new MAS museum (among many many others), the museum of fine arts, the delicacy market on Saturday, about a km from our house, the antique and fleamarket street, the large parks, domains, fortressess and castle routes in and around the city, the hip cafes or beer bars, the less visited art nouveau areas of the city, which are actually quite close to our place, the night life... In case the city interests prove not to be enough for a holiday, Brussels or Gent are about 40 minutes away by train, Rotterdam 1 hour by train, Cologne, Paris and Amsterdam 2 hours by train,London 3 hours, Bruges is a little over an hour and the closest beaches in Zeeland or the lakes in the Mol area can be reached in about 45 minutes as well. For a daytrip (with or without children) we also very much enjoy the large village museum in Bokrijk (+/- 50km). And we will definitely be thinking up more suggestions depending on your interests.

You may also like