12 acre Beachside Farmhouse with Swim Pond!

12 acre Beachside Farmhouse with Swim Pond!




Jan 2015

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 11
2 Bathrooms

About our home

Our favourite place to get away from it all is our 12 acre oceanside farm, located in the heart of one of Canada’s up and coming wine and culinary destinations - the Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island.

Our Farm is a beautiful and relaxing retreat - while being only a short drive away from all the farm to table restaurants, wineries, farmers markets, artisans, antique shops, and local shops that make the Cowichan Valley one of Canada’s up and coming culinary and wine destinations. In fact, you can walk to one of the best wineries and restaurants in the region - Cherry Point Estates. If you decide you want a big city experience as well, our province's beautiful capital, Victoria, is only a 45 minute drive away.

Our farm house was originally built as a fishing lodge over 100 years ago. There are 4 bedrooms, including one with bunk beds which sleep 4 including the trundle bed. We have two bathrooms, each with a shower and bathtub. The living room and family room each have a huge window to take in the ocean views. We have a lovely side deck which looks out towards the ocean and field. We have a large kitchen with electric stove and oven, microwave, dishwasher and coffee maker. You will find a BBQ on the back porch and a fire pit to enjoy hot dog and marshmallow roasts, again with a view. There is wifi.

The house overlooks an ecologically important beach where you can easily find sand dollars, clam shells, and the occasional mussel and oyster shell. If you are lucky at low tide, you will find moon snails which can get as big as your hand and preys on the local clams and star fish. You can even go crabbing - use our trap or even your bare hands and dinner will be ready soon. And don’t forget to look up to watch the eagles and osprey hunt for their dinner in the sea and out for seals, sea lions and whales. This past summer saw several orcas and even a humpback swim past our beach at Cherry Point.

We have a 30 year old orchard with plums, apples, pears, currants, quince, raspberries and one fig. We have a large vegetable garden as well - please help yourself! There are also many wild plum trees and a few nut trees.

We also have chickens - and a groundskeeper, so you needn’t feel obligated to take care of them unless you wish to get more actively into farming life. But please do help yourself to the eggs. New this summer our our Black Welsh Mountain Sheep; they were too cute and friendly to send to 'finishing school', so we are now enjoying their company. Again, no care is needed from you unless you wish to get involved.

With 12 acres, there is a lot of space to explore and for kids to run around; we also have a zip line and a tree swing along with many outdoor games such as badminton, bocce ball and croquet - good for kids and adults.

We are very excited because we just completed our swim irrigation pond and tree house! The pond is roughly an acre in size with a shallow beach suitable for small children to play and splash, and then we have a deeper area for older kids and adults to enjoy - up to 15 feet deep in the middle. We have a beautiful waterfall at the opposite end of the beach and stepping stones to admire the water and aquatic life close up. Over the winter and spring, we will finish our wooden wharf and boardwalk and the aquatic plants should be going in in March. As you can see from the photos, we have already been enjoying our irrigation/swim pond even while the digging machines were working! We have had many awesome afternoons spent swimming, relaxing in our tubes and on the beach, and having the occasional water fight!! We also added trout and enjoy feeding them at dusk and watching them jump - it is also a perfect time to watch the many different kinds of local bat we have swoop over the water to catch their dinner. The trout also bring the birdlife to our pond and we have watched the herons, king fishers, and ospreys all try to make a meal out of our fish!

We also finished building our tree house and have held two sleep overs this summer with the kids and their friends. Their highlight: watching the stars overhead and listening to the Barred Owls.

We have four bikes you are welcome to use to explore. As well, for the families out there, we do have a list of excellent babysitters on file should you want to enjoy some of the excellent farm to tables restaurants in the area without your children!

In addition to the culinary and wine adventures near by, there are a lot of recreational opportunities, from kayaking, boating, swimming (either in the ocean, lakes or river), fishing, hiking, diving, tennis, mountain We are currently finishing work on a swimming pond which when completed this summer will offer a shallow wading area and beach for the little ones, and then deep water for swimming.
biking, whale watching, caving, horse back riding, and our personal favourite, river tubing down the Cowichan River. We 20 minutes away from the nearest town, Duncan, and as mentioned, we are also 45 minutes from Victoria, our province’s capital which has many activities, restaurants and culture to enjoy and 4 hours from Tofino, a surfer’s paradise.

Our primary residence is a ferry ride away in West Vancouver, a beautiful waterfront community that is only 20 minutes away from downtown and 20 minutes away from the mountains. Please see our other listing.

Here is a video that that shows what a beautiful and entrancing community Cowichan is. Enjoy!


More about us

  1. We are a family of four. My husband is a lawyer, and I am a community volunteer. Our daughter is 10 and our son is 8, and both are in French Immersion.

  2. We love to be outside in nature whether hiking in the mountains or snorkelling in the ocean, or simply reading our books in the grass. Both kids are passionate horse back riders, and are always looking for an opportunity to ride. My husband and I also enjoy good food and good wine.

  3. We have had three very successful house swaps (Martinique, Kenya and France), and fell in love with this way of travel. We are very respectful of another’s property and promise to take good care of yours.

Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like