Victorian house, in Beaches neighbourhood of multicultural Toronto

Victorian house, in Beaches neighbourhood of multicultural Toronto

Maryanne

 

Joined

Mar 2006


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 5
2 Bathrooms

About our home

We have lived in our 3 storey, 1890 Victorian home for 26 years, spending much of that time renovating it. Our three daughters, Yoshiko 26, Mariko 22 and Kayoko 16, all live at home. We love our home and our gardens. The rear is dominated by a large oak tree, older than the house. There we have both a sunny, perrenial and berry garden, and a shady, wild flower garden. We have a wood burning stove in our yard because we enjoy sitting outside around a fire. We often eat in the garden or on our second floor deck. On the ground floor we have a large sitting room whith seats, ten because cooking and eating good food together and spending time around the table is important to us. Our kitchen is compact and very functional. The living room is at the back of the house with large windows overlooking the garden. The second floor is one very large, open space with a bunk bed, a single bed, a bathroom and two smaller, adjoining rooms. The third floor is one verly large bedroom with a double bed, a TV and a sewing alcove.
The basement has a guest room, a bathroom, an artist's studio, a computer-work room and laundry.
We have filled the house with our ongoing collections of beautiful and unusual things both natural and man made.

Features

More about us

  1. My name is Maryanne. I am of European decent. I am 57 years old, am an artist, writer, homemaker, and gardener. My husband Ted Kawano is 58, 3rd generation Japanese Canadaian, and a designer-builder. Our oldest daughter is a manager in a sporting goods store, our middle daughter is graduating as a graphic designer and our youngest daughter is in high school specializing in art. They love sking and snowboarding. We enjoy many things together including good food, designing, camping, collecting . We have traveled extensively in Canada. We have always wanted to travel to Japan, this being our first trip away from North America, our first trip to Japan. We are very excited. We would love to be able to have a home base from which we can explore as much of Japan as we can in one month,as well as have a place to return to where we can relax and cook some of our own meals. We would gladly exchange houses for a month or part of a month. We realize that this offer is of short notice and apologize. That is because we only just learned about this house exchange service. Thank you for considering this offer. May be all find what we are looking for!

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

Our home is a fifteen minute walk to sandy beaches on Lake Ontario. There, extensive parkland with a boadwalk and bycycle paths connect us to other park areas in the heart of Toronto. We are on a bus line which will take you to a subway in minutes that will connect you with all of Toronto. Commuter train stops up the street connecting you with national trains. Our east side neighbourhood feels like a small town within a larger city. We are within walking distance to public playgrounds, parks, indoor swimming pools, tennis and volleyball courts, community centre, libraries and nature trails. Toronto is the largest city in Canada. It is the cultural, financial, educational and business center of Canada and yet retains its "many small towns within a city" feeling. Museums, symphony, operas, theatre, galleries. It has been listed as the most multicultural city in the world. Large distinct cultural neighbourhoods abound making eating out an adventure.
It is an hour and a half drive or bus ride to Niagara, our major fruit growing and wine area. It is glorious in the spring. Niagara-on-the Lake is quaint and Niagara Falls spectacular. Three of the four Great Lakes are withing a 3 hour drive. Surrounding rural country side is beautiful; camping is excellent. Canoe in Algonquin Park for a few days, hike the Bruce Trail, see Shakespeare's plays at Stratford. Toronto is about a 4 hour drive or train to Ottawa, Canada's capital and about 6 hours to Montreal and Quebec.

You may also like