Lovely new townhome in sunny, safe Victoria; close to parks, hiking, beaches

Lovely new townhome in sunny, safe Victoria; close to parks, hiking, beaches

Ann

 

Joined

Nov 2005


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 5
2 Bathrooms

About our home

Our new home is spacious, clean and has all the amenities to make your stay comfortable and easy. It has a large living room with gas fireplace, TV, video and DVD player, and comfy leather couch; adjoining is a modern kitchen with breakfast bar and an elegant dining room. Upstairs you will find three large bedrooms, one with a queen sized bed, one with a double bed and TV, and a single in my daughter's room. There is a laundry room upstairs and the master bedroom has an ensuite bathroom with soaker tub. Both upstairs bathrooms have showers. Electric heating throughout. The house is quiet, peaceful, and a soothing place to unwind after a busy day of touring. The outlooks are green and treed, and you will be able to watch the hummingbirds, woodpeckers and squirrels which visit our suburban neighbourhood. We don't hear our neighbours at all as our homes our only connected by the garages. My car is a VW Cabrio convertible, and is available for exchange - it's loads of fun to drive through our mountains with the top down.

Features

More about us

  1. My name is Ann, I'm in my mid-forties, and I have an eight year old daughter Alice who is already an accomplished traveller, as we have friends and relatives in various parts of the U.K. and Canada. She is very careful in other people's homes and will be 10 by the time we come. We recently spent a week in France on an informal house exchange and loved it. I'm an archivist who works for the Royal British Columbia Museum, and I'm interested in public history, architecture, gardening, camping, beachcombing and our natural environment. I was born in the U.K. and have fond memories of my early childhood in a small village in Essex, summer holidays on Exmoor, and poking around in tide pools on Devon beaches. I am planning to travel in the summer of 2008 with my daughter Alice, and a couple of good female friends, who live in Scotland. Our hope is to spend at least a week in Iceland, which would be one exchange. After that some time in the South of England, or Spain would be nice, which would be our second exchange. Or we can do it in reverse order. Our home will be empty for about a month, so we can be pretty flexible on dates in the summer of 2008 at this point. We are very proud of our own city, Victoria, and if you would like to overlap your exchange and stay in a hotel for a couple of nights, we would be happy to get you oriented before we head off.

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

My home is in a small enclave of 8 town homes in a quiet residential neighbourhood, with parks, tennis courts and country walks just up the road. My daughter and I love to visit the goats on the farm just past her school. Our neighbours are all friendly, and Victoria is a very safe and tourist-oriented city. Our small city is on the southern-most tip of Vancouver Island, surrounded by ocean beaches, and we enjoy a cool Mediterranean climate, with ocassional palm and banana trees popping up in local gardens. We are known as the Garden City, with beautiful Butchart Gardens being the most famous garden, but every neighbourhood has plenty of green space and parks. Victoria has a lovely walkable city centre located on an inner harbour, with excellent restaurants, galleries and museums, antique shops, and specialty shops. If you are not comfortable driving my car, public buses will get you directly from my house to the inner harbour and downtown. You can also take a ferry to Seattle, Vancouver, or one of our charming Gulf Islands. For outdoor enthusiasts there are coastal hikes, kayaking tours, whale watching tours, and serious mountain biking opportunities. Migrating and resident birds abound. From here you can also drive to the wild west coast of the island for 10 mile-long beaches, mountains, and more whales! Vancouver Island is naturally spectacular, unspoilt and wild and my home is an excellent base for your family's adventure.

You may also like