Homely flat in major European city

Homely flat in major European city

Amanda

 

Joined

Jun 2014


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 4
1 Bathrooms

About our home

Our flat is small but comfortable in a quiet neighbourhood. We have a courtyard outside with slide, climbing frame and sandpit, where the local children gather to play.

Berlin is a fantastic city. We have beaches, forests, lakes, swimming pools (indoor and outdoor), bowling alleys, tennis courts, horse riding.
There are lots of festivals on throughout the year. Not to forget all the sights and historical buildings. I have a guide to the wall, both through the city and outside it, if you would be interested in cycling/driving around where it was.

The nightlife too cannot be beaten with many theatres, cinemas, clubs, restaurants, bars, live music venues, open air theatres/cinemas...the list is endless.

We also have a 450m² allotment in Marienfelde, a bit further south than the flat but easily reached with public transport. It is great for peace and quiet. There is a big trampoline, swing and slide plus as much fruit as you can pick in the Summer months!

Features

More about us

  1. I am Amanda (Mandy) originally from Preston in Lancashire, UK but have lived in Berlin for 22 years. My daughter, Jade, is coming up 14 at the end of July. We have 2 rabbits, Susie and Lucy, who can either be here when an exchange is taking place or can stay with one of our neighbours.

    I work at the Hertie School of Governance as a faculty assistant and do translating and proofreading on a freelance basis. We are obviously restricted to the Berlin school holidays as far as travel is concerned.

    I heard about this website from a colleague of mine who has done several home exchanges and it sounds like a great way to see different places and to give someone a chance to see Berlin while staying in a comfortable setting. Not only does it make travel cheaper but it cuts out the impersonality of hotel accommodation, I'm very excited to give it a try!

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

The flat is situated between the tube station, Westphalweg (U6) and the S-Bahn station Attila Straße (S2) and there is a bus-stop right outside so you can quickly get around by public transport.

I don't have a car but can leave my monthly ticket which would provide free transport for one adult (2 adults and several children between 10pm and 3am and at the weekend).

The area we live in (Mariendorf) is very green. There is a canal a couple of minutes walk away and a big shopping centre around 15 mins walk (or 1 tube stop) away.

The bus from here takes you directly to Steglitz where there are lots of shops and restaurants/bars/cafés and with the fantastic transport system we have here, you can get to anywhere in Berlin very quickly. The night buses run every half hour even in the middle of the night.

You may also like