Relax in comfortable family home close to nature

Relax in comfortable family home close to nature

Joined

Jun 2012


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

5 Bedrooms
Sleeps 7
3 Bathrooms

About our home

Our house, built in the 1960s, was extended and modernized throughout in 2004, including a number of energy-saving features. However, we left the cosy feel of the house (Kachelofen) and the large garden with apple and cherry trees and a shed untouched. Sitting out on the patio, under the trees or in the shelter of the barbecue "hut" is a delight in the summer.

Our home has a large modern wooden kitchen with dining area, a separate dining-room and a living-room. In our open-plan library it is particularly cosy in the evenings and in the winter when the wood-fired oven is on. We have German and British satellite TV.
On the first floor you find a bedroom with a double bed, two bedrooms with a single bed each and a fourth bedroom (balcony room) with a small double bed. There are two bathrooms (one with a jacuzzi) on this floor. The attic has been converted into a living area and features a large bedroom with a double bed and an ensuite shower unit,a fully equipped kitchen with dining area and a loft. This area can accomodate guests or we retreat to it when we host a larger family in the main part of the house.
The downstairs (cellar) area features a sauna, a washing-room with a washing-machine, a second freezer and fridge as well as a drive-in garage.

For Coburg a car is advisable if you want to explore the area, but public transport (bus service in the town and overland, good train connections to Nuremberg and Würzburg)is also available.

Features

Brigitte's reviews

As a host (3)

More about us

  1. We are an Irish-German couple in our early 50s. One of us is a secondary school principal, the other does freelance photography and translations besides teaching. We have two sons (21 and 17). The older is a student and only sometimes travels with us. Our younger son lives with us and occasionally joins us for our trips.
    We like travelling as a couple or a family, depending on who has time to come. Sometimes our two sons travel on their own together.
    When at home we love a rather relaxed, unpretentious lifestyle with cooking at home, entertaining, sitting out in the garden or going for walks in the countryside around our house. We like reading, music, going to concerts, cinema, theatres, museums, photography exhibitions or eating out, swimming or relaxing in a spa.

    Our ideal exchange destination can be anything from city breaks (long weekends up to a week), rural or sea, so all suggestions are welcome. We have done one very successful exchange that we thoroughly enjoyed. We are not pedantic, but it goes without saying that we'll treat your property with great respect and expect the same from you.

    We can offer non-simultaneous exchanges and are open to hospitality exchanges as well. We are open to offers for all year round.

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

Coburg is a town with a population of about 40,000. (http://www.coburg-tourist.de)
Our house is located 3km from the centre at the edge of town right beside fields and the forest, but within easy reach (200m) of a bus stop (every half hour) to the town centre.
The area is very green, slightly hilly and ideally suited to walking or cycling. It offers historic sights (castles, monasteries etc.), thermal spa facilities (Bad Rodach, Bad Staffelstein, Bad Colberg) and easy access to nature (Frankenwald http://www.frankenwald-tourismus.de, Thüringer Wald http://www.thuringia-tourism.com/travel-hotel-holiday-tour/index.html). Trips to Nuremberg, Würzburg or Erfurt are easily done by car (about an hour)or train. Munich is about three hours by car and also easily reached by train.

Our home is set in a village/rural atmosphere with mainly mature couples and families, but children are very welcome. There is a large playground within 400m. The public swimming-pool (indoor and outdoor pools as well as a slide and fun pool) is about 5 km away. There are also a number of thermal spas and smaller natural lakes within easy reach. In summer outdoor cafés and beer gardens in town and the surrounding villages offer a relaxing atmosphere where children are always welcome, too.

You may also like