Lovely house with garden near Cologne/Bonn & Rhine

Lovely house with garden near Cologne/Bonn & Rhine

Joined

Sep 2009


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 8
1 Bathrooms

About our home

The house is a more than 200 year old frame house (Fachwerkhaus), very nested, with visible beams and low as well as high ceilings. On the ground floor there’s the hall, living room, dining room, kitchen and access to the garden. Four steps up you’ll reach the first childrens room (daybed for 2/1,60x2m), the guest bathroom (WC) and the utility room (washer, dryer). 6 more steps up there’s the second childrens room (2 levels, 2 mattresses 1x2 m each downstairs, with room for more mattresses upstairs) and the main bathroom (WC, shower, bathtub, 2 basins). Finally another 5 steps up there’s the office (with room for matresses but no lockable door) and the master bedroom (double bed/1,8x2m).

From the terrace you’ll reach a large garden with old trees, totally secluded from the neighbors and the street. The terrace is roofed so you can sit outside, barbecue and enjoy the outside fireplace even when it is raining.
In the garden at the side of the house there's a jungle gym with swings, a slide, a sandpit and stuff to climb on.

The house has three fireplaces: one outside on the terrace, one inside in the living room and one oven in the hall which can be used to heat the whole house in the winter (conventional heating is also available, of course).

Our home is completely safe for small children. It is fully equipped with everything your toddler/kid may need to sleep, eat and play. We can provide a baby travel bed, if necessary.

Since there is a couch in the living room which can be turned into a comfortable bed for two (1,6x2 m) the whole house has sleeping facilities for 7-9 people in 4 rooms (2 beds, 1 sofa and lots of matresses).

Features

Dorothee's reviews

As a host (14)

More about us

  1. The family consists of Juergen (self employed interim manager and translator of travel guides, age 55), Doro (Project Manager, age 53), Vincent (age 16), Elinor (age 11) as well as Louis and Rosalie (our cats). We lived in 7 different German citys before we settled down in Königswinter 14 years ago. We love to read and to watch movies. Our huge collection of English and German books as well as an extensive DVD collection are at your disposal.

  2. We already had 20 exchanges in 2010-2020 to the Netherlands (Amsterdam, Almere, Egmond aan den Hoef, Koudekerke, Utrecht, Maastricht & Breskens), France (Le Vesinet & Dol-de-Bretagne), Spain/Andalusia (Estepona & Gaucín), Gran Canaria, UK (2x London & Whitstable), Belgium (Bruges, Antwerp & Brussels), Denmark (Vejle) and Italy (Padua) and we're looking forward to the next one. Please don't hesitate to contact us when you are interested in an exchange, even when you want to exchange outside of the above mentioned dates. Its always worth a try!

  3. Please be aware that you have to look after our cats during your stay. Louis is rather independent, sleeps a lot during the day and goes outside at night. He'll just need a cuddle once in a while and food twice a day. Rosalie will always be our kitten, even though she is already 8 years old, but she is totally cute. She wants to be cuddled until her fur explodes. The cats have their own access to the house, so they come and leave as they want.
    If we exchange in the summer please note that you'll need to water our garden during your stay, When its really hot that might take half an hour in the morning or evening. If you don't have a garden yourself please consider if that would work for you because we would hate to come back and see all our roses, hydrangea bushes and vegetables dried up to a crisp.

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

The house is located in the small village of Ittenbach, around 7 km from Königswinter on top of the Siebengebirge. Ittenbach is surrounded by a nature reserve, ideal for hiking, mountain-biking, skating and long walks in the forrests. Important points of interests nearby are the Drachenfels, Bonn (the former capital of Germany, 18 km) and Cologne (45 km). Even Koblenz (72 km), Wiesbaden (120 km) and Frankfurt (150 km) are only a short car ride away. Königswinter is the gate to the romantic Rhine valley, famous for its wine, medieval castles and gorgeous scenery, best admired on a riverboat cruise.

If you want to see for yourself what the Siebengebirge is all about please check out this beautiful video on YouTube: https://youtu.be/x9kKuPmvVg4!

Immediately in Ittenbach you'll find shops for daily necessities (drugstore, groceries (Aldi & Rewe), bakery, newspaper/cigarettes, icecream parlor). Larger grocery shops are also situated in the next village (3 km). Ittenbach has a good connection to the highway and from there to Cologne, Bonn, Frankfurt and Koblenz. Public transportation to Königswinter and Siegburg is available, but irregular.

Cool bars
n/a
Retail therapy
Cologne, Bonn, Koblenz, Frankfurt
Bit of culture
Drachenfels, Siebengebirge, Rhine
Walks in the park
Siebengebirge, Rhine

You may also like