Comfortable home in the beautiful West of Ireland

Comfortable home in the beautiful West of Ireland




Jan 2008

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
2 Bathrooms

About our home

*** NOW SEEKING EXCHANGE IN MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA, FOR LONGER DURATION (c. 2-3 months, Feb-May 2012). Reason: sabbatical. ***

We have an exchange for Summer 2011. Still open to offers for other times.

Our house is a bright, modern, comfortable semi-detached house in Galway city, in the West of Ireland. We are interested in an exchange during the summer or at another time of the year - please contact us! We are open to offers from European countries, though not anywhere further away this year, eg North America or Australia/New Zealand. Our four-bedroomed house has two double bedrooms, one bedroom with a single bed and one bedroom with a baby's cot. We have two bathrooms (one en suite) and a toilet downstairs. Our living room has an open fire, and we have a dining room, and a well-equipped kitchen. The rear of the house is south-facing and has a deck and small garden. The location is a quiet suburban cul-de-sac about 3-4 km from the city centre. We have two bicycles, a car, and there is a local bus which goes directly into town. We have baby seats for the car and for the bicycles.


More about us

  1. Molly (37) is a psychologist, currently working as a lecturer & researcher at the National University of Ireland, Galway. Simon (47) is currently working as a freelance photographer. Our first child -- Dara, a boy -- was born on 26 September 2007. His little sister, Maeve, was born on 22 October 2009. We have had five European home exchanges so far and enjoy this kind of holiday very much. Since we now have two young children we are hoping to find a child-friendly family home to exchange with. Although Galway is not yet a great cycling city like some places in Europe, we are regular cyclists and our car stays in the driveway most of the time. We feel we are very lucky to live in a city located so close to so many natural amenities: Galway Bay, Lough Corrib, the Burren, Connemara etc.

Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?


Galway is a vibrant university town of around 70,000 inhabitants, situated on the river Corrib (where it is possible to fish for wild salmon right in the centre of town) and beside a beautiful bay. There are city beaches and a lovely promenade about 3 km from our house. Galway has a lively arts, music and theatre scene, and in the summer the city is bustling with visitors and events. The Galway Arts Festival and the Galway Film ?Fleadh' (festival) take place in July. There are a large number of restaurants, cafes and, of course, pubs with traditional Irish music. These are all wonderfully smoke-free now of course. The city is well positioned for touring in Connemara and County Clare, areas that have some of the best beaches, rivers, lakes and national parks in Ireland. Connemara is well known for its mountains and lakes, and is an ideal destination if you enjoy touring, walking or fishing. County Clare is famous for its unique limestone ecosystem (the Burren) which is home to rare wild flowers. Also within easy reach by plane or boat are the unique and wonderful Aran Islands. If you would like to see more of Ireland, Dublin is 2.5 hours by train from Galway and counties such as Sligo, Donegal, Kerry and Cork are all within four hours' drive.

You may also like