Light,warm, spacious wooden house on 6 hectares rolling fields with beautiful views, near Lough Derg

Light,warm, spacious wooden house on 6 hectares rolling fields with beautiful views, near Lough Derg

erica

 

Joined

May 2007


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

5 Bedrooms
Sleeps 5
2 Bathrooms

About our home

Wake up to fantastic views, shower in one of two huge shower rooms, breakfast out on the large decking leading from the kitchen, then lounge on the sunloungers and listen to birdsong.. then take a walk or cycle around lovely lanes, take a picnic out onto your own private fields and check out our little stream.. visit the sheep, horses and chickens! Then perhaps a cycle on our bikes or a kayak trip on the lake on our kayaks which can be used on lake, river or sea..If you fancy a night in get all the family involved in creating a lovely meal in our spacious easy to work in kitchen.. Then maybe a jaccuzzi bath, followed by a lie down on the huge deep sofas, watch the sunset through the floor to ceiling windows, and maybe the lambs playing in the fields.. If it is between November and March and below 10 degrees outside you may want to light the stove, but we hardly ever use it- Even on frosty days, the house heats up with warmth of the sun! Cruise the internet (Broadband available). Bedtime- Adults Retire to a kingsize, 2 metres wide handmade wooden bed and children already worn out from lots of fresh country air!

From our house we can only see one other house and that is 300m metres away- All neighbours are very friendly and helpful- You are bound to meet someone when out exploring the quiet country lanes- by foot, bike are horse- we do all of these. An hour up the hill will lead you planted forest with lovely views of lake. 5 minute drive or 15 minute cycle will bring you to Lough Derg, 2nd biggest lake in Ireland, 20 miles long, famous for fishing and water sports. There is also a water sports activity centre 15 minutes drive away..A short 5 minute drive will bring you to lively town of Scarriff where you will often find traditional live music. There are regular showings of Art house films and a monthly SAMS (sharing music and song session). Also a monthly world dance night which is great fun! In August there is a harbour festival in Scarriff and traditional music festival in nearby Feakle village. 5 minute drive or 20 mins cycle will bring you to Raheen woods with many lovely walks in some very old woodland- one tree, the Brian Boru oak, said to be the oldest in Ireland. Killaloe is 20 minutes drive and a very picturesque town with river running through. Sit in Mollys and eat a famous pizza whilst watching the view of river and lake and sunset over the hills. On a Sunday you will find a market here selling wonderful local produce. Beautiful atlantic beaches 1 hour drive and The Burren, spectacular scenery 1 1/2 hour..

Dave and Erica are in our 30's and have lived in Ireland for 10 years. We are originally from the U.k, Dave from Newcastle and Erica from Birmingham. We lived in Lancaster, near the Lake district for 8 years where Erica completed a degree in French Studies and Dave a degree in Biological Science. We moved to Ireland to send our children to the local Steiner school and renovate/rebuild a cottage, which involved spending 3 years in a caravan with small children! Then we bought our land and designed our house and had this one built by others! We are planning another eco house on one of our fields, then we may stop building! Dave is an environmental consultant who enjoys sheep farming, snorkelling, kayaking, cycling, gardening, singing and playing football. Erica loves horse riding on her horse Chelsea, swimming in the sea and travelling! Eva is 15 and loves drama and cooking. Lily is 13 and likes hip hop dancing and swimming. Ishka is 9 and loves knitting and playing with her animals. We did our first home exchanges in summer 2007- we spent 5 weeks in France in 2 houses and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. we have done several swaps since.We are keen to visit anywhere in the world- surprise us!

Features

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like