Our beautiful "Amsterdam at the sea" Haarlem

Our beautiful "Amsterdam at the sea" Haarlem


Mar 2016

Response rate


Ratings are based on the speed and percentage of swap requests replied to

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 7
2 Bathrooms

About our home

Hi there! So nice that you consider staying in our house.

We love to welcome you in our typical dutch family home which is close to the centre of the ancient and cosy city Haarlem.
We have 4 bedrooms (one very big one that covers the whole upperfloor), and a lot of toys to play with.
We have one bathroom, 2 toilets and a separate sink for washing, toothbrushing etc in de master bedroom. We have extra matrasses, so if you need to, you can sleep in our house with 7 to 8 people.
If you like our cleaner-lady can come every week to clean the house.
We have a fully equipet kitchen and all the basics for cooking will be there (just tea and a coffee -nespresso machine).

We have a car which we can swap if you like. You can use our bikes to discouver the amazing seaside, the dunes full of wild horses, foxes, sheep and wild cows and woods next to our home. We have three kids ourselves, so the house is very suitable for children and babies. In the garden there are swings and a trampoline. A cross the street there is a very nice citypark with natural playgrounds and a cozy treehouse-cafe. In the Kweektuin (that's the name of the park a cross the street) there are also treehouses with tropical plants and turtles and fishes. There is an botanical garden with the ruins of the old Spanish castle that was destroyed in the Eighty-year war.

There are shops for groceries a few blocks away (also an organic supermarket). Next to the organic supermarket is a good restaurant where you can eat all kinds of dutch meals and they have plenty of things for children to eat and also a big table where they can play or draw.
In the little shopping street in our neighbourhood there is a very nice café for breakfast, coffee, lunch and wines :-) There is also a really good fish restaurant very suitable for children (everything is suitable for children in Haarlem).
Haarlem is famous for the very good restaurants. We have several resaurants with one or more stars. We have two cinema's and a few theatre's. The Teylers Museum is a must see! Really, go there with the children. You will be in another world. Take the tour with an tourguide. They can tell you all about the history of the Netherlands and famous sientists who lived and worked here in Haarlem.

Just walk (15 minutes from our house) into the ancient centre with the huge church and market square. It's like walking in the Middle Ages. We live between Amsterdam, the beach and the famous flower fields.
It's a 15 minute drive to the centre of Amsterdam (by train) and a 15 minute drive to the beach (by car or bus). It's a beautiful ride by bike to the sea, trough the dunes. There are six trains every hour to Amsterdam central station. You must take a day trip (or more) to our capital with great museums, parks, shops and much more.

In the dunes (15 minutes by bike) you can swim in little lakes. Visit the "Wed" were you can swim and eat and drink in the dunes-cafe "The Duincafé". There is also a little museum and shop with typical Haarlem_presents.
The centre of Haarlem is full with nice restaurants, bars and tiny shops with local products. There are many designers and artists in Haarlem. We have great musea, suitable for kids, about the history of the Netherlands. There is a bus stop 1 minute walk from the house, with the bus that will take you to the train station or the city centre.


More about us

  1. We are a couple with three children: Roman (16), Juno (14) Nora (7). My husband Sem is a attorny and a musician. My name is Anneloor and I am a documentary director for national tv and a recently published a graphic novel.

  2. In one house -of the two listed at homeswap-, we have two very lovely cats. They are used to kids and really cuddly and funny. We would be happy if you could feed them. The other house (of my parents ) hasn't got animals.

  3. We go to the beach and swim and play there a lot. We like to discover new towns. We love good food and design and most of all spending time with friends and family. We will really take good care of your home, as much as we take care of ours.

Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?


Our house is very close to the city centre (you can walk it) in a green naighbourhood. We live across a very beautifull citypark, which is called De Kweektuin. There are two natural playgrounds, small animals, botanical garden around an ancient ruin of a Spanish castle and tropical greenhouses with turtles and fishes. There is also a great greenhouse-restaurant "Het Kweekcafé" where children can play and where you can buy all kinds of design made by artisans from Haarlem. There is even a hairdresser. Everyhting is circulair and klimate-responsible.

Buzzy restaurants
There are so many great restaurants in the citiy centre
Cool bars
In den Uiver (oldest cafe of Haarlem)
Cozy cafés
Many cozy cafe’s all around the centre
Retail therapy
visit "Het Kweekcafé"
Bit of culture
Teylers museum, ons of the oldest museums of the Netherlads
Walks in the park
De Kweektuin at the opposite of our house
Spot of exercise
go to the dunes, it's beautifull and you can do great hiking
Day tripping
Amsterdam! Very easy, just take the train

You may also like