Large Family Home in bush lined cul-de-sac

Large Family Home in bush lined cul-de-sac




Jun 2010

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
2 Bathrooms

About our home

I have not had a chance to get photo's together for this listing yet (only listed 23/06) but hope to update it with photo's asap. Our home is situated in a quiet, bush surrounded, cul-de-sac on Auckland's North Shore and is a 5 minute drive to Birkenhead shops which has numerous bars and restaurants and it is only another 5 minute drive over the harbour bridge into the CBD which has great eating and entertainment options. Our house is a "split level" dwelling with a large deck on poles out the back facing directly into a native reserve with a spa pool on a lower level deck surrounded by bush. There are four large bedrooms, two of which have ladders and attics (kids rooms), one with bunks, the other with two single beds, and on this level of the house there is also another double bedroom (with queen bed), bathroom with shower, toilet and the laundry room. There is also a second living area on this level that leads onto the deck. The main living level of the house is 3-4 steps up from this and the lounge, dining and kitchen is a large open plan area. The kitchen is modern with a granite bench and tiled floor and looks directly at the bush surrounds. There is then 6-7 steps up off this area to our large master bedroom which has a walk in wardrobe and a bathroom with shower and toilet.


More about us

  1. Bruce and I have been married for over 10 year and both work full-time. This listing is our family home and as such we are looking for prospective swappers who will look after it as if it were their own while they are here. In return we will do this too and promise to leave your home in the same condition we find it. Bruce (36) works at Taylormade golf as Operations Manager and I (42) work at SKYCITYHotels as a Business Development Exec. We have three children - two boys, James and Sean, aged 6 and an older girl, Charlotte, who is nearly 9. We also have a very old british bulldog - she is not allowed inside (except on really horrible nights) and so the house has no pet smells. Our kids are really well behaved and respectful (I know everyone says that but ours actually are!!) of other peoples things and I would be very confident about them looking after any potential swappers home and possessions. We are ideally looking for a swap over the Rugby World Cup in August/September 2011 for the duration - anything from 4-8 weeks would be considered. But have also decided this would be a great way for us to get great holidays in the future and so are open to any suggestions you may have with regard to your holiday hopes.

Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?


We live in a northern suburb of Auckland but are very close to the city. Our house backs into native bush and is very private - at the bottom of our road there is an entrance into the bush reserve and there are lots of bush walking tracks to explore and that lead to some small private swimming beaches. It feels like we are in the middle of the bush but are in fact only minutes from Auckland CBD. We are only a short drive from any number of beaches - Takapuna beach being the largest with beachfront shops and a shopping mall and there are other smaller ones closer. A car is recommended as we live down the bottom of quite a steep hill but the house is north facing, gets all day sun and is generally warm all year round. On our flat front lawn we have a trampoline with safety nets and a kids swing set and there are lots of smaller kids bikes and toys for children who stay at our place. The house was recarpeted last year and the walls are painted a very neutral colour. Our furnishings are modern and include a 46inch tv in the main lounge with a 30ish inch in the second living area.

You may also like