Comfortable very private two bedroom stand alone townhouse.

Comfortable very private two bedroom stand alone townhouse.

Tessa

 

Joined

Jan 2013


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 4
1 Bathrooms

About our home

Our home is our pride and joy. It is very comfortable, private and inviting with great indoor/outdoor flow. In the winter it is also cosy and warm with a heat pump and nightstore heater. We have an English cottagey garden which I (Tessa) especially love to spend time in. The kitchen, dining and lounge area is open plan spilling out onto a patio where we have barbecues, etc. We have a newly renovated bathroom with a spa bath, shower, toilet, etc and two bedrooms. The master bedroom has a sliding door which opens onto a small deck where you can sit and read and feel private. The second bedroom has one bed, plus trundler bed. We use this room for visitors, grandchildren, etc. when they come to stay and where we also have our desktop computer set up. We have a double garage (with automatic door opener) which houses the laundry as well. My grandson has remarked how much 'he loves our snug little house'. In comparison he lives in the North Island in quite a mansion of a house.

Features

More about us

  1. We have just recently retired (in our early 60's) and would like to spend time with our son and his partner who live in the UK. Ideally, we would spend at the most 6 months living and hopefully working as well, enabling us to catch with Scottish relatives and friends in other parts of the UK. My husband (Philip) is from Amsterdam so will be catching up with relatives there as well. I (Tessa) have been a primary school teacher but have spent the last few years working as an administrator at Canterbury University. My husband has been a sales engineer for the last ten years. We have 6 children (our second marriage - coming up 18 years) and 6 grandchildren who are all scattered abroad (almost). We are involved in our local Church and enjoy pastoral care. Home exchange is not new for us. We recently did a house swap with a couple in Auckland which was a great success. We are avid readers, enjoy walking, gardening and entertaining. We have friends close by and lovely neighbours happy to help if necessary. The recent earthquakes have not affected us or our lovely home and we are so thankful. Life is beginning to settle down again and Christchurch is slowly becoming the English city of the south that it once was.

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

Our home is situated approximately 4 kms from the city centre. We are close to a main road on a back section and share a driveway. Bus stops are almost at our front door, as are various shops - chemist, hairdresser, bakery, and takeaway shops. Nearby is a lovely spacious park where people walk their dogs, make use of the playground and flying fox and cricket in the summer and soccer matches in the winter, etc. About 2kms down the road is a shopping mall, with cinema, library, supermarket, cafes etc. Beaches are accessible by road, about 5kms away. In the winter ski fields can be reached within an hour and a half.

You may also like