Strawbale house in beautiful vineyard country, Wairarapa, New Zealand

Strawbale house in beautiful vineyard country, Wairarapa, New Zealand

Linda

 

Joined

Apr 2006


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
2 Bathrooms

About our home

Situated on a 10 acre block with natural woodland and stream, our strawbale house overlooks magnificent views of farmland and vineyard country. Long, low-lying ranch-style house; sunny, warm, with four double bedrooms, large open-plan kitchen, dining, with large entertainment area. The house is surrounded by a wide verandah and each room has fabulous views. Outside barbeque area. Two large bathrooms, easy wheelchair access. Access to boradband internet.
We have free-range hens and two donkeys (very children-friendly).

Nearby country pub and vineyards offer excellent meals, wine-tasting and summer entertainment. Close to two small towns with all amenities incuding excellent cafes with supremely good coffee. The Wairarapa is well-known for its excellent wines (pinot noir, sauvignon blanc, chardonnay, pinot gris etc), lovely bush walks, rivers, with beaches about an hour's drive away. Wellington, the capital city, is an hour and a half drive, or you can catch a train from either of the two nearest towns.

We're in our mid-50's and have travelled extensively and still enjoy going to other countries, meeting new people, learning about other cultures. The idea of travelling "slowly" and staying for a while in one spot is very appealing and we'd be open to practically anywhere in the world. Nick is a viticulturalist, so naturally we're interested in wine-growing areas; Linda spends time making silver jewellery, mosaics, gardening, and runs a charitable organisation. Our adult children have all left home, so we thought we'd have a few "ski" holidays while we still can (Spending Kids Inheritance)

Features

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like