Four bedroom family home in Mount Albert

Four bedroom family home in Mount Albert


Apr 2018

Response rate


Ratings are based on the speed and percentage of swap requests replied to

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
2 Bathrooms

About our home

Our comfortable family home has four bedrooms and open plan living / dining with an office.  There is a front and back deck and quiet garden.  We have a wood burner for the Winter and a ducted heating and cooling grill system for Winter and Summer comfort.  We would be happy to swap our car too (seven seated automatic).  We are a family of four, originally Ian and Joy were from England but have now been in New Zealand for over 25 years.
We have had two enjoyable house swaps with a family in the UK and one in Nelson as well as three point swaps in NZ.  We would love to do more house swaps.

The main bedroom has a Queen bed and window seat.  The second bedroom has a King single (with a Queen single stored underneath) . The third bedroom has a single bed and the 4th room is our spare bedroom with a single bed and TV/Google chromecast and window seat.

We have two daughters who are 16 and 14  so there are plenty of games and books.  We also have ukuleles a keyboard and other instruments.

We are centrally located in Mount Albert 4 mins walk from Baldwin Avenue Train Station (but far enough away that you can not hear the trains!).  It is a short walk down to New North Road where there are plenty of buses into the City which is about 20 mins away.  We are also 4 min walk to the local French deli/cafe as well as Parkside Cafe/Vietnamese Restaurant, an Italian restaurant and a well stocked Fresh Collective 'market style' shop.  The local YMCA gym is less than 5 minutes walk away and the local Auckland famous 'Rocket Park' is near the gym - great for young kids. We have unlimited fibre wifi with our main TV an internet one.  Our other TV (Google chrome cast) is in the spare room.  The local YMCA gym is down the road and visitors can register on a casual basis.

Our home is 5 minutes drive (two stops on the train) from Eden Park and also 10 mins walk from the Phillips Aquatic Centre (main lane pool and fun pool / water slide).  We are 5 mins drive from the No. 16 motorway which gives access to the West Coast beaches or a short drive over to the North Shore.  It takes under 10 mins to drive to the centre of the city for visits to the Sky Tower and other central sights. MOTAT (Museum of Transport and Technology) and Auckland Zoo are under 5 minutes drive away - Mount Albert is a great place to live.

Auckland has plenty of cultural and outdoor activities.  We have well maintained pedal bikes:  2 adult hybrid, 1 teenager and 1 early teen, with local cycle routes not far from our home.  There are numerous city cycle routes.  We are only 20 minutes from the airport.

We have had a  small friendly cat called Layla - she is low maintenance and just needs a few cuddles and feeding.  If you want to go away for a few days that would not be an issue as one of our friendly neighbours would feed her. We also have a lovely rabbit, but we can arrange for him to be fed / looked after as well!

We would love to hear from you if you live in New Zealand for a swap over the school holidays sometime.  


Joy, Ian, Zoe & Amy


Joy's reviews

As a host (1)

More about us

  1. We are a family of four. Mum & Dad originally from the UK but we have lived in New Zealand for over 20 years and love it!

  2. Joy works for a Startup and Ian is a teacher

  3. We enjoy playing music, going to the beach, cafes, board games and low key cycling as well as family time

Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?


Family friendly neighbourhood - but near to the city - best of both worlds :)

Two train stops to popular Kingsland for restaurants/bars and the world famous Eden Park
4 mins walk to New North Road and buses to the city
Short walk to Baldwin Avenue train station
5 mins to No. 16 motorway with access to the Waitakere's (bush and beaches) or North Shore - more beaches!
10 mins drive to the city - including Sky City, Waterfront cafes and bars
Food market 10 mins walk away on a Friday night and fresh produce market on a Saturday morning

Buzzy restaurants
Local Vietnamese Thurs/Fri/Sat 4 mins walk and Sal Rose Italian Restaurant most nights
Cool bars
Cozy cafés
Retail therapy
St Lukes mall - 5 min drive or walk 4 mins to the bus. St Lukes has a supermarket, library, pharmacists, cinemas etc etc
Bit of culture
Train/bus to the city and go to the Art Gallery. Museum is near Grafton train station.
Walks in the park
Fowlds Park - local park 15 mins walk
Spot of exercise
YMCA gym - 4 mins walk :)
Day tripping
Piha surf beach, Waitakeres, Rangitoto, Waiheke (dream island 40 mins ferry ride away) - too many places to mention!

You may also like