Cosy family house in beautifull, quiet surroundings, near the ocean

Cosy family house in beautifull, quiet surroundings, near the ocean


Nov 2010

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 5
2 Bathrooms

About our home

Short film about where I live. Most images are from my local community, roads that I travel on every day.

I have a detached Norwegian style house with a large ( 2500 m2) garden and carport. The garden-lawn is fenced in. The house has two floors. There is a balcony on the second floor and large porch/veranda on the first floor. Trampoline in the garden. The whole house has balanced ventilation. This means that each room has its own active ventilation which supplies the house with (pollen/dust)filtered fresh air. This system can be centrally regulated, both temperature and the amount of fresh air, or it can be turned off altogether

Description of ground floor: Entrance/Hall, bathroom with w.c. spacious living room with double doors opening to porch/veranda, TV-room (107 inch home cinema movie screen theater with HD projector, situated separate in sound isolated room), Kitchen.

First floor: stairs, three bedrooms (1 master bedroom and 2 children`s bedrooms), bathroom with shower and bathtub, and attic room. This attic-room has two double doors that open to a small balcony.

Wireless and wired broadband internet connection, 107" inch home cinema screen with HD projector, an Xbox One, good video-game collection, 3 fully functional semi acoustic guitars, one Fender Amplifier, and one Alesis DM6 electronic semi-professional drum-kit (not assembled but easy to do)
Good collection of books and literature (about 500 books) in various languages; Norwegian, English, Dutch, German, Swedish. Good collection of board games for all ages.

The whole garden is fenced in giving our two border collies full opportunity two run and play around the house whenever they want. The dogs can be left alone for shorter periods of time (1-2 days) because they have access to the back entrance of the house via a small designated "dog-door". I would like you to take care of the collies during the swap but if this is not possible for you, I can try to arrange otherwise. I have done 10 exchanges until now and the dogs have never been a problem, please read the reviews left by others:-)

Car: 1 Kia Ceed station wagon, 2011 modell, 5 seater.
The car can be used by those who stay at our house during this period. My insurance company has no objections. The only thing you need is a valid drivers-license

Autumn 2011, the building of a small annex has been completed which is being used as a small, cosy, office. with cabled internet.

Hundreds of pictures of the spectacular natural beauty of our municipality (Hamarøy) can be found here:

Pictures taken by a local hobby fotographer. He also has his own facebook adress:

Pictures from our community added on a daily basis! If you have access to Facebook this link is really worth it as he adds pictures of Hamarøy and it`s surroundings almost daily. Just click on/ brows to, his photosection.

Now some pictures of my house. They where taken a couple of years ago so the furniture may have changed a little bit since then. I will update these pictures in the next couple of weeks. (end of march 2016)


Harry's reviews

As a host (4)

More about us

  1. We are a dutch couple with two children, a daughter aged 14 and a son aged 19. We will probably be traveling with only our daughter, but during the summer our son and his girlfriend might come and visit us, so it would be nice if there was room for 5 persons in total.
    Originally we are from the Netherlands but have been living in Norway since 1996. We, Harry (54) and Tilly (49)both work as District Nurses. Our children were born in Norway. They speak Norwegian, Dutch and English.
    We also have two border collies, who I. would love for you to take care of during your stay. A dogkennel is both expensive and a long distance from our house and therfore we prefer an exchange with people that would like to look after them. Both dogs can be left alone during daytime or for up to two days at a time because our whole garden is fenced in and the dogs can move freely in and out of the house using a designated "dog-door" which gives access to food and water. Our neighbour, when at home, loves to keep an eye on the dogs for you as well when we you are away for a couple of days. I would like to point out that the sun does NOT set/go down in the summermonths so the dogs will not be alone "in the dark night" while you are away:-)
    If you don`t like to care for the dogs at all I will try to arrange it that they can be someplace else during the exchange.

    Dutch translation.

    Ik ben een alleenstaande vader die al sinds 1996 in Noord-Noorwegen woont. Ik ben 51 jaar en mijn kinderen zijn 16 en 12. Mijn zoon blijft tijdens de ruil bij zijn moeder wonen omdat hij tijdens de vakantiemaande werkt. Het totaal aantal reizigers komt toch op 3 omdat mijn vriendin meereist. Dus twee volwassenen en een kind. Ik heb ook twee border collies en ik hoop dat onze gasten bereid zijn op hen te passen. De honden maken gebruik van een een hondedeurtje en een deel van de tuin is zodanig afgezet, dat ze gerust een paar dagen alleen kunnen worden gelaten met toezicht van de buurman. Ik en mijn dochter passen graag op jullie huisdieren!
    Mochten de honden een dealbreaker zijn dan kan ik proberen ze ergens anders onder te brengen tijdens de ruil. Ik vind het heerlijk om hier te wonen, heerlijk rustig met prachtige natuur, maar af en toe gaan ik naar Nederland om familie te bezoeken en de kinderen hun nederlands te laten oefenen! Het maakt me niet zo heel veel uit waar in Nederland, want de familie woont in Groningen, Zeeland en Delft! Laat wat van je horen als je geinteresseerd bent of vragen hebt. Het is een prachtige belevenis om de midzomernachten mee te maken! Verder kan je hier dagelijks elanden tegen komen, arenden, rendieren en vosjes!

Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?


My house is located in municipality of Hamarøy, which is called 'the Pearle of Nordland' because of its beautiful nature. It is also the home of Nobel prize winning author Knut Hamsun. As of today the best way to travel is by traveling to BODØ (airport) or alternatively NARVIK/EVENES. Bodø will give you more options and I will use the same airport to travel from. That way my car will be parked at the airport, ready for you to use. The car has GPS and my home is off course listen under "Home". The journey is about 3:15 hours in the summer (But remember, we have 24 hours of daylight then so you will not be traveling in the darkness) The journey is very picturesque in itself. The road will take you from the lowlands, over mountain passes, to the highlands and back to sealevel again. Alternatively you may choose to travel from Bodø to Skutvik by "fast-ferry." This journey will take 2:15 hours and is very nice as well. The passenger ferry is comfortable, and stays near to the coastline. Some spectacular views! From Skutvik to my house is about 30:minutes. I can have my car ready for you at the small harbour there.

Because of our location the sun will not set between may and September, this is also known as the "Midnight sun".
Many possibilities for hiking and walking on marked and/or unmarked trails, both to hilltops, mountain tops as other areas. Generally speaking nature is very accessible in Hamarøy.

Fishing both at sea and on lakes.(no permits required for sea-fishing). We have Bicycles available, 1 adult-sized, 1 for a teenager or small adult and 1 small children`s bycycle. 2 road-racing bicycles.
1 seakajakk.

The following link gives you lots of short videos from the municipallity Hamarøy:

Ferry to Lofoten Islands 20 km from house.

New built Hamsunsenter 10 km from house.
The Hamsun centre:

Various galleries in the area. Possible to rent canoes at local camping.

On this website you can see beautifull pictures of the area:

Spa centre (opened winter 2011) 5 km from where we live:
Owner Regina Stier, fysiotherapist, speaks Norwegian, German and English

You may also like