Farmhouse near Faro/Loule, Algarve, Portugal. (And a 2 bed apartment in England)

Farmhouse near Faro/Loule, Algarve, Portugal. (And a 2 bed apartment in England)




Jun 2011

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
2 Bathrooms

About our home

Our home is a lovely refurbished and extended farmhouse located in the valley of Goldra Da Cima approximately 20 minutes drive from Faro Airport in the delightful Algarve in Portugal. It has three double bedrooms, the master bedroom (is the former living room) with high ceilings, French doors into the garden and a seperate dressing room and en suite shower room. Two further bedrooms, one with a double bed and the second with two single beds are located near the family bathroom.

A large open plan kitchen (fully equipped) leads into a large open plan living/dining room with French doors onto the patio. The patio area (covered and uncovered) is generously furnished for dining and relaxing. Both these rooms benefit from underfloor heating and a large wood burner in the living room.

In addition there is a study/office on the mezzanine to the main bedroom and a 'snug/library' in the center of the house with a wood burner.

Entertainment systems include a Sonos music system, B&O TV with UK satellite channels, a B&O Music system and PC computers with both wired and WiFi internet access.

Outside we have a salt water swimming pool that can be heated, typically we start swimming in March/April although the hearty can probably go earlier! there is also a large gas BBQ which we use all year round. The plot (over an acre in size) is a mixture of lawns, flower beds and fruit trees (Olives and Figs). The plot offers privacy and quiet whilst still having neighbours nearby.

We also have mountain bikes available (four - 2 are good the other 2 are ok! as long as you don't want to do anything too serious. Cycling along the seafront to a favourite cafe for lunch is perfect!).


More about us

  1. My wife and I live for most of our time here on the Algarve, Portugal, we're both 48 years old and have two boys (23 and 20 years old) who have both left home and are supposedly "independent" ! We are both directors of our recruitment outsourcing business that is a global company with offices in the UK. We are at a wonderful stage in life of being "semi" retired and now the kids have flown the nest we have more time to spend on one of our passions, travelling. We have now visited California a number of times and have fallen in love with it. We both enjoy the outdoors, cycling, hiking, swimming, which is why we live in Portugal and take our vacations in California. We also enjoy good food and wine, another attraction of California (and Portugal).

    In addition to our home in Portugal we have a two bedroom apartment in Newbury, Royal Berkshire, England (only 60 miles from central London and close to Oxford, Windsor, Bath, Winchester etc) which we return to every month for a week or so when we visit England for business and to see family.

    Both our properties are available for exchange.

    We are visiting California for 3 months from mid February 2012. Our intention is to spend time (up to one month in each) in Los Angeles and San Francisco (or Marin County). The remaining time we will spend exploring Northern California (Mendocino) and the Deserts. We are looking for exchanges for any part of this trip.

    We will consider non-simultaneous exchanges for any duration in either or both of our properties. Our itinerary is not set so any suggestions, offers and durations will be seriously considered.

Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?


The immediate neighborhood is rural (see photos) but not isolated. The nearest village, Santa Barbara de Nexe, is 5 minutes drive away and has a small supermarket, petrol station, bakery, etc.

The nearest large supermarket is 10 minutes drive towards the large town of Loule, where there is also a large fresh produce market. We are 20 minutes drive to the coast and the wonderful beaches and within easy reach of the world class golf courses and other activities that the Algarve has to offer. Central locations such as Faro, Loule, Almancil, Quinta do Lago, Val do Lobo and Vilamoura are all within 20 minutes drive. An abundance of restaurants, cafes and bars can be found throughout the area.

The beautiful and historic Spanish city of Seville is only 120miles (2 hours drive) away and Lisbon is about 170 miles away.

You may also like