“This trip started off very well, communication was quite good at the start and the swap was easy to arrange. The apartment was beautifully decorated and comfortable; a little bit cleaner would have been nice, but not a deal breaker. The pool and playground downstairs were great and the on site shop very convenient. We had a fantastic time in Singapore. We did encounter a few disappointments when we got home. While we were away, we were in fairly regular communication with our hosts and no mention was made of any problems. When we returned home we found personal items missing. Attempts had been made to replace them, but not like for like. There was wet sheet in the bottom of the laundry basket that didn't smell good at all, we think maybe wee. Also, popcorn had been burnt in the microwave and it hadn't been cleaned out. When we came home, we tried to clean it, but the burnt smell wouldn't come out; we had to throw the microwave away. When we asked them about it they said they thought the microwave was faulty and that it wasn't their problem. This doesn't explain why they didn't mention anything about any of these incidents. Accidents happen and things can get lost, but we think it's important to report them and to at least make an attempt to rectify, repair, recompense or explain. Swapping works because we trust people to care for our homes and belongings. Our house is not a hotel and shouldn't be treated as such. Perhaps, if they'd communicated openly with us, we would feel different, but on balance we wouldn't do this swap again. Host response: We feel as if the party we swapped with we're trying to take advantage of us with regards to their microwave. With regards to missing items this is totally being misrepresented we did lose their umbrella but replaced it with brand new ones and i then offered monetary reimburse also. The microwave in question was so old and dirty we used it 3 times and one occasion was popcorn however when we left the microwave was in full working order. As for the sheet my youngest. Hold is 10 years old and has never wet the bed so I am shocked by this comment. In my opinion we were met with an old mouldy property with bad wifi and an ant problem but we didn't complain we just got on with it. Our home in Singapore is 5 million dollar property and is 5 star with every mod con. Having said this I wouldn't recommend this property to anyone with children, the safety and location are questionable and it provides limited amenities”
Melissa's reviewsAs a host (1)
Where is it?
You may also like
Our home is our sanctuary. We live on the 9th floor of a family friendly condo right in the heart of Singapore. We have a luxury 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom...
Our apartment sits on 4 floors (approx 400sqm) and boast a large terrace and à balxony over looking a tropical garden and the Botanical Garden (UNESCO site)....