Big apartment in downtown Barcelona

Big apartment in downtown Barcelona




Mar 2006

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 7
3 Bathrooms

About our home

Our apartment is a large, quiet duplex on the upper floors of an 8-story building in central Barcelona. It has lots of light and a nice view with a balcony on one floor & a small terrace on the other to sit outside and enjoy the nice weather. It's approximately 130 square meters (It's hard to say exactly because Spanish apartment sizes are calculated without walls (!))

The apartment is made up of a living room, kitchen, 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms (1 with tub, all with toilets), and a huge open play space on the second floor with loads of toys, mainly playmobil.

The bedrooms are as follows:
- 1 small bedroom with a double bed
- 1 medium bedroom with a trundle bed (1 single + 1 single below that can be pulled out) and en-suite bathroom
- 1 medium bedroom with a single bed
- 1 large bedroom with bunk beds (2 singles)
Contrary to many Spanish apartments, all the bedrooms have windows. These windows look out either onto an interior courtyard or onto a large exterior courtyard, so there is little traffic noise and no nighttime noise with party-goers, etc.

Please keep in mind that it is hot in Barcelona in the summer and the apartment only has 1 air-conditioning unit, which isn't enough to cool the entire apartment and in particular, doesn't cool the bedrooms. We have standing fans & ceiling fans, but you should expect it to be hot and humid in the summer.


More about us

  1. We are French-Americans: Kate & Stephane, our 14-year old son, our 12-year old daughter, and our 10-year old son. We work in finance and marketing. We enjoy horseback riding, hiking, city visits, and bicycling together in our free time. We have done 12 previous exchanges on other sites and we think this is a great way to travel. We are extremely careful about the homes we stay in and enjoy meeting new people each time we do an exchange.

    We have 5 bicycles we're happy to lend: 4 adult sized & 1 with 24" wheels (age 8+)

    We have a rabbit that can be part of the exchange or left at the vet. We're glad to take care of your pets if needed while staying in your home. We have a cleaner who can come while you are here if you'd like (13 eur/hour). We answer every e-mail. We look forward to hearing from you!

Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?


We live in the Fort Pienc neighborhood which is a few blocks south of the Sagrada Familia in Eixample. It is a regular central neighborhood with lots of grocery stores (including several good organic ones), hair salons, laundry places, hardware stores & cafes. There are no sights to see in the neighborhood and also no tourists, but there's plenty of normal neighborhood life. The nearest metro stop is Tetuan or Arc de Triomphe, each 2-3 blocks away.

Barcelona is quite small so you're less than half an hour walking from the Sagrada Familia, the famous Gaudi mansions on Passage de Gracia, the park de la Ciutadella, the Born neighborhood, or in the other direction the design museum & the big flea market Encants. We're 2km from the beach straight down Marina or a 10 minute bus/bike ride. We're a block off of Gran Via, the main east-west boulevard in Barcelona, so it's extremely easy to get around by bus because many lines pass right by here.

The trains that come through Arc de Triomphe go to Vic and further north to the Pyrenees, so those make convenient day trips. You can go skiing by train from there, in fact, at La Molina station, although it's a bit of a trek for a single day (3h). In the other direction, you're just 2 stops from Sants, the main train station, where you can catch trains to anywhere in Spain if you want to take a day trip to Girona, Figueres & the Dali museum, etc. That's also where trains leave for Madrid, Valencia, and France if you want to take an overnight trip.

You may also like