7 miles from Cambridge our family home in a cosy village near all the sights!

7 miles from Cambridge our family home in a cosy village near all the sights!

Shelly

Last login

Over a month

Member since

February 2007


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 4
1 Bathrooms

About our home

Our cosy 3 bedroomed house is a 10 minute walk from the village shop and pub. We don't have any pets but do have a very long back garden - idea for running in! We have a trampoline (with safety net fitted!) play house and apple trees to sit under. There is an upstairs loo and sink in the master bedroom. The third bedroom is small - but can fit a double bed in it. We have an air conditioning unit - should it be hot! This is portable and can be easily moved from room to room. There is a play area next to the living room with a piano in it - should anyone like to tinkle the ivories! We have lovely views of fields from our living room window - and the children love to watch the changing seasons and farmers acitivities - there are occasionally sheep to watch!

Our neighbourhood is a quiet, prettty well cared for village. The local shops provide much of what you need - fresh bread everyday - and deli counter local ham and good cheeses. Fresh bread everyday with a postoffice, haridressers and newsagents; and of course 'The Bell' our village pub. We are a short drive from many suppermarkets, Tescos, Sainsburys and Waitrose.

We have an indoor swimming pool on our doorstep - a 5 minute walk form the house. You can book tennis and badminton courts. There are many lovely walks that can be taken and we are very close to Anglesy Abbey a beautiful national trust property. We are also close to The Devils Dyke an ancient ridgeway that can be walked to Dullingham, near Newmarket about 8 miles. The village is a quiet family place with lots of young families. There is a bus stop a minute's walk from the house and buses run regularly to Cambridge, Newmarket and the surrounding villages. We are in easy access of Cambridge and Newmarket and the train station in Cambridge is a 15 minute drive. Trains to London can also be taken from Waterbeach - a nearby village. Reach a lovely village about 5 miles from us has a beautiful village pub which serves very good food and is so pretty and a treat to visit. Bottisham makes a great setting for a family holiday - with easy access to lots of lovely places of interest, Bury St. Edmunds is 30 minute drive and is a lovely old fashioned town with a market.

Mark is an I.T. trainer at a local software house. Shelly is a teacher - though not of late - I've been concentrating on raising the kids - Jordie 8 and Ella 5. Mark is a and ex-furniture maker and several of the peices of furniture are in the house - the dining room table for example and the 'dinosaur' table in the master bedroom, plus several mirrors hanging around the house. We have all 'mod cons ' computer with web access, Colour T.V. in the living room with DVD and Video player. Shelly was a film and media studies teacher so there are lots of dvds and videos in the cupboard in the living room. We both enjoy reading and there is a well stocked book shelf for you to access. Jordie and Ella have the usual assortment of bikes, scooters, toys and books associated with 8 and 5 year olds!

Ella likes to bounce on the trampoline with her brother Jordie - she goes to gymnastics and rollerscating every week and is becoming quite a dare devil! Ella also likes to go on the CBeebies web site and playing numberjacks is her current favourite.

Jordie loves acting, singing and dancing - he currently goes to theatretrain on saturdays where he enjoys all his favourite activites. Jordie plays korfball, basket ball and is starting piano lessons again ( didnt work out last time - fingers crossed!)

We all enjoy living in the village and dont miss living in Cambridge - we are near enough to everything and in the evening its only a 10min drive to the center of the city.
Shelly loves to walk - there is a great 4 mile 'stomp' which can be done in an hour - its a circuit of a square really and takes you up to the next pretty village along from us Swaffham Bulbeck - where our kids go to school. A charming little school with only 95 pupils. We are very lucky.

Mark plays guitar and that 'lives' in the living room - so do have a strum - but please dont let the kids play with it!

Shelly speaks a little french - but very basic and in all the wrong tenses!

Features

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like