Stay in our familys bright and welcoming second home, in central Edinburgh, in a quiet street.

Stay in our familys bright and welcoming second home, in central Edinburgh, in a quiet street.

Deirdre

Last login

Over a month

Member since

March 2007


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 5
1 Bathrooms

About our home

We are looking to swap to a hot country for Christmas and New Year 2014. Our bright and welcoming second floor flat has two bedrooms. All the rooms have high ceilings with original Victorian features.

The first bedroom is large with a pine double bed, wardrobe, bedside drawers and a chair that folds down to a single bed. There is a single cot (dismantled) for use.

The second bedroom is smaller with a raised pine double bed, a window into the kitchen, a fold down futon / double bed, and a table. Hanging space for the clothes is under the raised bed. The two bedrooms can sleep seven at a squeeze for a larger family. It would suit four people or less better.

The living room has a sofa, armchair, coffee table, two smaller tables, a nursing gliding chair and footstool. There is a coal effect gas fire for that lovely warm feeling. There is central heating.

The kitchen has a washing machine, fridge freezer, gas cooker, worktops, cupboards, sink and a pine table / bench set for eating at. All normal utensils, kettle, plates, etc are in abundance. As well as cleaning materials.

The washroom has an instant shower, sink, large mirror and toilet. The wall is uniquely decorated as a jungle mural with wooden animals hanging above.

There is a very small study room.

All the rooms are entered from a large and spacious hall.

Double glazing is fitted at the large windows at the front of the flat where the windows look on to the street (living room and main bedroom). The flat looks out over the street at the front where you can sit at night in the living room and see nice sunsets or aeroplanes in the distant sky. There are no flats immediately opposite to block out the light. The rear windows (kitchen and bathroom) face the shared garden and other flats / apartments.

There is a television (digital channels) a dvd player, PS2, and a stereo in the flat. Wifi can be arranged.

We do not have many personal possessions in the flat as it is a second home

The Broughton area is a quiet but central area of Edinburgh. Our flat is within a 15 minute walk from the main street in Edinburgh, Princes Street in central Edinburgh. The area is safe to walk about in.

Our mutual stair has lovely prints of a resident's artwork on the walls, with a well kept shared, secure garden. The residents in our stair are friendly.

Local transport links are nearby as are many amenities; shops, 24 hour petrol station, parks, bowling green, putting green, banks, playparks, the Botanic Gardens, cycle paths, theatre, cinema, cafes, bars, restaurants, art galleries, museums, swimming pools and other facilities. Please note that most of the museums and galleries are free to enter.

There is so much to explore for anyone who is alone, with a partner or with a family. Edinburgh is a wonderful, mutlicultural, thriving city that is ideal to hop on and off buses or just to stroll around to enjoy.

Our family is from Edinburgh and so we can offer you a good insight into places to go that suit your interests and budget.

We now live on the rural Mull of Kintyre in the West Coast of Scotland. I am a freelance Community Worker and my husband is an freelance Social Worker / Lecturer. We have a seventeen year old daughter and a nine year old son. My husband uses our flat in Edinburgh as a base for his work.

My husband and I have travelled a fair amount, including a few swaps, and now we are looking for family orientated holidays. I can speak some Italian.

Features

More about us

  1. We are a responsible Scottish couple in our forties, with a seventeen year old daughter and a nine year old son.

  2. We work in professional social work and community work.

  3. We like places that are child friendly and relaxing, but culturally interesting..We can give you local knowledge of Edinburgh as locals.

Availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

Buzzy restaurants
International restaurants available within a fifteen minute walk, including the Lonn Fung, one of Edinburgh's oldest Chinese restaurants.
Cool bars
Lots of bars locally including the Elbow, Cask & Barrel, and Smithies.
Cozy cafés
Lots of cafes nearby, including Earthy and the Circle Cafe.
Retail therapy
15 minutes walk to trendy Broughton Street and Leith Walk for unique shops and Princes Street for High Street shops.
Bit of culture
15 / 20 minutes to many theatres, museums and art galleries.
Walks in the park
10 minutes to the Botanic Gardens, a few playparks nearby, and an entrance to the city wide cycle path / walkways.
Spot of exercise
10 minutes walk to a gym and two swimming pools.
Day tripping
15 minutes walk to the train and bus stations for explorers.

You may also like