Semi rural private 'Hobbit Hole' home in countryside with great links to cool cities

Semi rural private 'Hobbit Hole' home in countryside with great links to cool cities

Sophie

Last login

Over a month

Member since

September 2008


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 4
1 Bathrooms

About our home

My family affectionately refer to my home as ‘the hobbit hole’, and I also like to think that it does bear a resemblance to Bilbo Baggins’s underground abode. Set in the pretty Yorkshire village of Ripponden in Calderdale’s rolling South Pennine hills, it is a very peaceful, private and typically English home, with a wood-burning open fire, lovely views, and a relaxing, warm, homely atmosphere. I love my home and I feel very lucky to live here, and proud when visitors (always) remark on its wonderful, cosy feel. However it's also v spacious, with a large double bedroom and living room, large dining kitchen and big garden on 3 levels which backs on to the river. We have a big trampoline in the garden and it's v family friendly here (although there are steps down to my home which would be an issue for pushchairs/wheelchairs!)


Ripponden is a village with a great community spirit. Despite being small, it has restaurants and pubs, shops and cafes, and great transport links to Halifax, Leeds and Manchester, Hebden Bridge, Haworth etc. It is surrounded by hills and moorland and you're never more than 2 minutes drive or a walk up the hill to some breathtaking views. We have the Calderdale Way and the Pennine Way nearby, lots of places for fishing, walking, cycling, golfing, rambling, horse-riding etc. We definitely have the best of both worlds, with Halifax (6 miles) and Sowerby Bridge (2 miles) being great places for bars and clubs, and Leeds and Manchester only 45 mins on train for people who want a taste of city life or some amazing shopping! We aren't far from the Lake District, Peak District and Yorkshire Dales, and a trip to the seaside is only a couple of hours drive too.

I am a freelance journalist and ghostwriter and I also run a dating/events website. My daughter is Evie, 5, and she enjoys drawing, singing and dancing. As well as writing, reading, walking, painting, food and drink etc, I love learning new languages, new cultures, meeting new people and having new experiences. I want to bring my daughter up with a love for travel and respect for other ways of life, and hope to house swap in all her school holidays if money allows! I am very tidy and I would treat your home as my own and with respect- I have brought Evie up to do the same and she is very well behaved. We have a cat called Fluffy and a hamster called Charlie who would need pet-sitting, but I am very happy to do the same in someone else's home. I speak v basic french and spanish but I am a good linguist and would try to teach myself (and Evie) the basics wherever we go and brush up our skills. I have a partner called Will who doesn't live with us but its likely he would come wherever we went. He is a gardener/dry stone waller and is also passionate about travel and new experiences.

Features

Availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like