4 bedroom family home with sunny garden by the sea

4 bedroom family home with sunny garden by the sea

Anton

Last login

Over a month

Member since

January 2012


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
1 Bathrooms

About our home

Our house is a large recently modernised four bedroom house with 50ft sunny garden 2 minutes from Hove seafront (Brighton). We've just completed major building works to create a large open plan kitchen/dining area opening onto the garden with large bifold doors. The room is airy and light and very connected to the mature sunny garden, so from April - September we now pretty much live in the kitchen and garden. The kids playroom is connected to the kitchen, and the garden is full of interesting things for kids to explore and play.

The street is wide and quite. Neighbours will be helpful if you need anything.

Recently modernised open plan kitchen/living area
18 meter established garden - very sunny, all day in summer
4 bedrooms – 2 x double beds, 1 x bunk beds, 1 x single bed.
Broadband internet connection
Bathroom (with bath/shower/toilet) & separate downstairs toilet. Outside hotwater shower for coming in from the beach.
Off street parking on drive way, and locked garage for bikes etc
ipod docking station
Washing machine, diswasher (no tumble dryer - we use outdoor line or indoor sheila maid!)
Well insulated and converted to high environmental standards - we are trying to minimise our carbon footprint and use of unsustainable or damaging materials and have solar panels for electricity.

LOCATION
2 minutes walk to the Hove seafront
5 minute walk from Hove shopping area (lots of restaurants, bars etc). 3 great gastro pubs within 3 minutes walk
20 minute walk to centre of Brighton (restaurants, bars, water sports, theatres, shopping etc)
15 minute drive from South Downs
I hour train ride from London (12 minute walk to station)
100m from sports centre/swimming pool
Local car/bike hire

We live across the road from Hove seafront (and the main swimming pool/gym/sports complex in Brighton/Hove. We have lots of beach gear, so in the summer we spend a lot of time on the beach or in the sea (in one of our kayaks or kitesurfing - Hove is a popular spot (there's a kitesurf shop across the road where you can take lessons, buy kit or get advice if you are interested). One of the features of our rennovation was to install a hot/cold outside shower...

Hove is the quieter end of the city, but still with good shopping and dozens of restaurants within a few minutes walk. The area is very flat so good for cycling. There's a large supermarket open 7 days per week at teh end of the street.

Brighton town is very lively and cosmopolitan, and about 30 minutes walk or a direct bus ride.

15 minutes drive out of town is the South Downs National Park an area of hills with great walking.

Central London is a little over an hour away, so easily accessible. The last train home is around 1am so you can even go to London for a night out. Brighton would be a good base if you are going the Olympics but not going daily.

KIDS
Toys, games, bikes (may take with), canoes etc
Playroom (connected to kitchen)
Bunk beds
Tree house in garden
Fish pond (child-safe as covered by metal grill)
Trampoline.
Playgrounds nearby.
Swimming pool/leisure centre at end of our road.

We have two kids - Luka 7 and Rosa 4. So the house is well kitted out for this age group - lots of books, toys etc.
The only draw back may be the very poor television reception - we tend to watch tv through the internet or DVDs.

CAR
We may include our car in the exchange - depending if we travel to you by train or car (we do not fly for environmental reasons so we are only interested in exchanges in Europe). We have a 2008 Fiat Doblo that seats 7 people.

Features

More about us

  1. We are a family - Anton and Petty with children, Luka (7) and Rosa (4)

  2. We both work in social development - Anton internationally (microfinance) and Petty in the UK (children and young people)

  3. We've both travelled a lot, but in the last few years for environmental reasons only fly if necessary.

Availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

Buzzy restaurants
Ginger Pig, Connaught, Terre Terre, Okanami
Cool bars
The Neptune
Cozy cafés
Revitalise
Retail therapy
The Laines, George Street, Churchill square
Bit of culture
Brighton Museum, Fishing museum, London
Walks in the park
Hove Park, St Annes Wells gardens, South Downs
Spot of exercise
King Alfred Leisure centre
Day tripping
London, Arundel, Lewes, Kingston, Whitterings, Charleston

You may also like