Beautiful big 5 bed Victorian London home

Beautiful big 5 bed Victorian London home

Kari

Last login

Over a month

Member since

April 2013


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

5 Bedrooms
Sleeps 8
2 Bathrooms

About our home

Our lovely Victorian high ceiled and happy family home is a spacious 2,200 sq ft, and über kid friendly packed with toys and books. Decor and furniture are high quality but some signs of kids over-running our lives are evident - ours is not a designer, pristine home but is an incredibly comfortable and large place to stay in London.

Downstairs is a big through lounge/diner which we use as a play area, to separate our space from the kids.

The hall and dining room/playroom lead into an extended family kitchen/diner with a huge oak table and then this leads out onto a sun trap of a (small) garden and patio with BBQ. There is also a small understairs toilet and washbasin.

On the first floor we have a huge main bedroom, facing the front of the house, with king bed, working fireplace and a comfy chair for reading. There is a modern shower room, toilet and sink. On this split floor level we also have a great home office with working fireplace, sofa and large desk for working. We also have a room suited to a baby through toddler age, with big cot/bed.

On the second level of the house our daughter has a lovely room facing the back of the house, just up the stairs from our main bedroom. there is also an additional bathroom up here with roll top bath, but no shower.

Finally on the third floor, we have a huge converted attic bedroom, with Velux windows and views towards Battersea over the rooftops which has a separate lounge area, double sofa bed and suited to adults or a teenage den as it is on a separate floor.

We have a 4 year old girl and 1 year old boy so we have all the equipment you can ever need for young children, including extra travel cots, high chairs etc.

We live in NappyValley (clapham/balham) in London, 6 mins walk from the tube and overground stations, a farmers market on Saturdays and 10 minutes on foot from parks, chi chi cafes, shops and a Michelin star restaurant.

Our road is typical of the Clapham/Balham area, the houses are larger than what they appear outside, and give you the feeling of walking into a tardis. We have friendly neighbours and its a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of central London. The area has the highest birth rate in Western Europe so if you have young children you can't go wrong with a weekend of week here in terms of facilities catering for kids.

We can organise qualified and wonderful babysitting and you can experience the bright lights of London. We love fine wine and food and eat out all the time, so can give you wonderful recommendations of both local and more central places to try. If you stay out late then we are a £20 black cab ride and 20 minute journey by car at night from Oxford Street/Soho.

We have rented our house previously, whilst we were abroad and will ensure you have everything you can possibly need to make your stay in our house fabulous and it saves you hundreds compared to London hotels.

We are interested in long weekend swaps and week long swaps only in the UK as we are not keen on long journeys abroad whilst we have such young children.

We are looking for the antithesis of where we live to swap with; rolling countryside, big gardens and farmland, so we get a total change of scene from wonderful but hectic London. We are totally and utterly flexible and accommodating people.

Features

More about us

  1. We are a professional working couple with two young children of a 4 year old girl and 1 year old boy

  2. Rob works as a Marketing Director at Diageo, Kari works at Shell Oil as a Programme Manager

  3. Our house is perfect for young families wanting some time in London; we can also arrange babysitting from our wonderful qualified Nanny if you want a night out without kids!

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

Buzzy restaurants
Chez Bruce, brunch at the Milk cafe, The Wolseley and Lamberts for British seasonal fare just 10 minutes walk from the door
Cool bars
Harrison's cocktail bar, Rosita Sherry bar, the Balham Bowling Club, The Avalon
Cozy cafés
Milk Cafe in Balham, Gail's Bakery on Northcote Road
Retail therapy
Chi chi baby boutiques on Northcote road, direct train to Westfield only 20 minutes by train to the largest shopping centre in Europe, Oxford and Regent street an easy 25 minute tube ride away
Bit of culture
Everything London has to offer.....I don't need to list this!
Walks in the park
Clapham Common, Tooting Common, Wandsworth Common, all with kids parks and great for running, a mere 10 minute walk away
Spot of exercise
Running around the nearby parks and commons or around Battersea Park
Day tripping
London, or get on a train direct to Brighton from our local station is 45 minutes

You may also like