Light-filled townhouse with garden and balconies

Light-filled townhouse with garden and balconies

2 Reviews

Mike & Simone

Last login

Over a month

Member since

December 2013

  • This is a super-member. They're experienced home swappers or the fastest responders.


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
2 Bathrooms

About our home

AVAILABLE FOR POINTS: July 23rd - AUGUST 3rd ... WE ARE AWAY AT THAT TIME.

Our house is a converted shop (built c.1860) set over three floors and located on a lively road containing a mixture of trendy restaurants, bars, pubs and boutique shops, including a Sainsburys mini-supermarket (7am-11pm) only three doors away. While the sights of London are easily accessible by bus and train, the immediate area is both family-friendly - with lots of parks and playgrounds - and great fun for adults of all ages. We are also near the river, where you can catch a boat up to London Bridge and beyond, or enjoy a walk or a cycle.

LOCATION
The location enjoys fantastic transport connections: 5 mins walk to Clapham Junction station (Zone 2), thence 10 mins to central London, the Underground network, South Bank Centre etc. There are direct buses to the West End, Buckingham Palace etc. including an almost 'door to door', 24 hr night bus service to/from Trafalgar Square.

* Airports: Gatwick (40 mins), Heathrow (60 mins), Stansted (90 mins), Luton (90 mins)
* 10 mins walk to the River Thames.
* 5 mins walk to leafy Wandsworth Common.
* Less than an hour by train to the coast (Brighton etc), with easy connections to the whole of the British Isles via the national rail network.
* Car swap with our 6-seater Fiat Multipla (low mileage/late model) may be possible.

ACCOMMODATION
The accommodation is very bright and comfortable throughout, with a double height loft-style living area featuring a huge 'atelier' skylight which spans the roof. The bright, well-equiped, sit-in kitchen (though compact, it comfortably seats 6 around the table, 8 at a pinch) affords access down to our south-facing, mature, private garden (5m x 20m) via the french windows and a balcony (3m x 3m), which can be an all-day sun trap during summer months. Both the garden and the balcony are great for open-air dining, and we have gas-powered and traditional barbecues. There are also lots of children's toys and games.

The main double bedroom (2nd floor) has an en-suite bathroom (bath/shower) and small, private balcony with views over a park-like space created by the large neighbouring gardens. Off the living area (1st floor) is a further toilet-with-hand-basin. A second, smaller, children's bedroom (also off the living area) contains bunk beds fitted with full-size mattresses.

On the ground floor is an entrance hall (lots of space for buggies, bags, boots etc.) onto a large open-plan multi-purpose sitting/play room with a baby grand piano. This leads either upstairs to the main living area, or through to the rear of the house where there is a further bedroom/s (can be split into 2 rooms, each with own door and window...thus there's potential for 8 people staying), with double sofabed, shower-room & toilet, plus further access to the garden via a small conservatory.

ABOUT US:
We are experienced house swappers (France x 2, Germany x 1, Italy x 1, Spain x 1, UK x2) and have always thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I'm sure you will find staying at our relaxed, comfortable and slightly quirky house lots of fun, and a fantastic base for exploring London. (SEE REVIEWS)

NB. We have two cats - but they are very independent, only need feeding once or twice a day and can be easily kept apart from the main living/sleeping areas. There is also the option of them staying at a local cattery.

Features

2 Reviews

More about us

  1. mid-40s/50s couple with two boy (10yrs and 7yrs)

  2. Mike: musician/academic, Simone: make-up artist

  3. We are responsible, easy-going and fun-loving creative professionals with well behaved children and high standards of decorum.

Availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

Buzzy restaurants
Powder Keg Diplomacy, Gordon Ramsey's London House, etc.
Cool bars
Ben's Canteen (across the road), Beehive pub, The Falcon etc.
Cozy cafés
Deli Boutique, Birdhouse, etc.
Retail therapy
Kings Road (20 mins by bus, or 30 mins walk over the bridge), trendy Northcote Rd, Clapham Junction high street.
Bit of culture
South Bank Centre (10 mins on train), Battersea Arts Centre, Trafalgar Square (30 mins by bus)
Walks in the park
Wandsworth Common, Battersea Park, riverside walks
Spot of exercise
Various fitness clubs, Tooting Bec open-air Lido, Latchemere family pool.
Day tripping
Seaside (Brighton less than an hour away by train), Oxford, Stonehenge, various castles...even France! etc

You may also like