Tranquil family home in leafy North London suburb

Tranquil family home in leafy North London suburb


Apr 2013

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 5
2 Bathrooms

About our home

Our three storey home, built in 1928, has four bedrooms (although we use one as our office) and can comfortably accommodate up to five people. The back of our house looks over a communal garden ('allotment'), golf course, pond and 14 mile nature trail.

We feel like we have a 'foot in the city' and a 'foot in the country' because we're only 30 minutes' tube ride from central London going south and a walk along a nature trail to countryside a few miles going north.

We have a front garden and back garden with a deck and patio from which we have spotted more than 20 varieties of birds. We have a pear and apple tree in our garden, as well as a grape arbour over half of the deck.

We have lovely neighbours who would be on hand to assist if necessary.

We have a medium firm super kingsize bed (6' x 6.5') in our bedroom, a very firm double bed in our guest bedroom and a medium firm single bed in our son's room. We also have a single inflatable mattress.


More about us

  1. We are Lucy, Adrian and Ollie - an Anglo-American family of three with a ten year old son. Lucy is half American and half English, and Adrian is English. Lucy grew up in Manhattan and moved to London 27 years ago. Lucy and Adrian both work part time. Lucy works on a property tribunal and Adrian works for a charity.

    Lucy's interests are sustainability, mindfulness and swimming. Adrian's hobbies are restoring his classic Alfa Romeo and keeping up with current events. We both love nature, reading, walking, family bike rides and time spent with friends.

    We would only like to swap with a non-smoking household, please.

    We would be delighted to answer any questions you might have. We have done seven houseswaps, which have all been very positive experiences, and can't really imagine travelling any other way now! We are very conscientious about looking after other people's things, and will certainly treat your home at least as well as we treat our own.

    Please note that we travel with our beloved cocker spaniel, Bailey, who is a very well behaved, clean and friendly dog.

Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?


We live in North London in a quiet, safe neighbourhood called Finchley – most famous for being Margaret Thatcher’s constituency while she was prime minister. We are a ten minute walk from the underground/tube, as well as numerous shops and restaurants.

We are close to major road and rail links to other cities of interest - 1.5 hours to both Oxford and Cambridge by car. Hampstead Heath is a 10 minute drive away.

You may also like