Small End of Terrace 1900's Workers Cottage

Small End of Terrace 1900's Workers Cottage

Bev

 

Joined

Dec 2005


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 3
1 Bathrooms

About our home

Our home is very small but perfectly formed for its age. The house was built in the later 19th Century as one of three terraced houses to accomodate farm workers. Overtime it has been extended to accomodate some modern amenities e.g. indoor bathroom and WC. We have a modern kitchen and bathroom. Some areas could be said to be somewhat "lived in" - mainly because we like to spend our time and money travelling rather than DIY.
The front of our house overlooks fields and there are particularly lovely views from the master bedroom upstairs.
We have a small side garden which runs the length of the house and there is a nice little patio area from which to watch the world go by.

Features

More about us

  1. We (Martin and Bev) share our home with 6 cats! Martin is CEO of local shortline railway in Wirksworth, while Bev runs a theatrical lighting and sound company also based at the railway. We moved to Derbyshire from the South of England just over 10 years ago and have never looked back. The relaxed pace of life and the friendly people make this part of England special.
    We do have 6 cats which we appreciate is not to everyones taste - so cats lovers are a pre-requisite. However if you are willing feed and water them - Victor, Albert, Shirley, Ernest, Enid and Stanley would love to meet you.
    Martin is a railway and streetcar enthusiast - and you will see this in some of the memorabilia in our home. Bev is just very tolerant!
    Martin is a smoker - so is relaxed if you wish to smoke in the house... but not upstairs please.
    Our main hobby is travelling and that is what we tend to do when time and funds allow.
    Due to work constraints we generally would be able to take a holiday for up to 2 weeks at a time.

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

We live a short but vertical walk (c. 1 mile)from Wirksworth which is a lovely traditional Derbyshire Market Town. Wirksworth has some lovely little shops, pubs, a couple of restaurants, museum and heritage railway.
Our house is on the Moor which consists of a Pub (traditional and very friendly) and 7 houses. There are some beautiful walks just outside our front door.
However, a car is recommended so you can fully explore the area. We are just 5 minutes from a branch rail line which connects to the mainline station of Derby - so sightseeing can be easily achieved using public transport.
Stratford, Nottingham, London, Manchester, York etc are all easily accessible for day trips.

You may also like