Spacious family home in centre of popular village near Cambridge and London

Spacious family home in centre of popular village near Cambridge and London


May 2011

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

5 Bedrooms
Sleeps 7
3 Bathrooms

About our home

Our home is in the centre of the thriving Cambridgeshire village of Melbourn, about 8 miles form Cambridge. We live at the end of a private cul de sac which contains 12 houses. The road is only used by the residents and therefore is very quiet. The children can play out on their bikes, go carts , scooters etc quite safely. Our back garden is totally enclosed and so very safe (except for the small pond). We have a comfortable outdoor sofa and dining table and good size gas BBQ outside and a chimnea so you can eat out with some extra warmth if needed!
Our house was built about 15 years ago so is quite modern. It is light and spacious with 5 bedrooms ( 2 double beds and 3 single beds with plenty of room on the floor if extra beds are needed), a family bathroom and 2 en suites. Also upstairs, we have a piano on the large landing and a bookcase full of books. The children's rooms are full of toys, we still have some toys for younger children up in the attic and can borrow baby equipment e.g. travel cot , high chair if required.
Downstairs we have a dining room which is open into our extended large family kitchen with central island with breakfast bar. All the usual mod cons including dishwasher, large range cooker, Nespresso coffee machine, bread maker and American Style fridge.The kitchen also contains a corner sofa for reading and relaxing! Three large Velux windows make it very light and airy. Our family spends a lot of time in this room!
Off the spacious hall there is a study, with high speed wireless internet and also the lounge and downstairs toilet. The lounge has French windows opening onto the garden. The garage contains bikes, skateboards, scooters etc which are available for you to use. We have a Nintendo Wii which the children (and adults!) would be welcome to use and cable TV and DVD player.
Our tabby cat is called Maddie, we would like to leave her in the house if possible, she tends to keep herself to herself but has had access to the whole house (in case you have any pet allergies).
We have a weekly cleaner which we could continue during your stay or arrange for a final clean at the end if you would like this.
We would also consider car swapping, we have a 7 seater people carrier ( Ford Galaxy).


Melanie's reviews

As a host (1)

More about us

  1. Our family consists of myself, Melanie, my husband Ruan, and children Abbie (18), William (15) and Oliver (13).
    I am a children's physiotherapist and Ruan is a technology consultant. We enjoy doing things with the children and spending time together as a family. We all enjoying skiing, the children and Ruan play hockey every week (nice quiet time for me!!), The children enjoy lots of different activities and are always busy, when we get the chance we like going out on our bikes. The kids love the water and so it would be lovely if we could find a home to swap with either near the sea or with a pool.
    I'm afraid we are only able to travel in the school holidays but are open to any ideas of places to travel. We have mainly spent our summer holidays in France over recent years but now the children are a little older it makes it easier for us to be a little more adventurous!
    We hope to be able to share our home with you and will take great care of yours. We have completed two exchanges now to Spain and Austria and it was a fantastic experience...we can't wait for the next adventure!

Swap availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?


There are excellent local facilities in Melbourn, including a swimming pool, tennis and squash courts,a gym and playing fields. For the children there is also a soft play area at 2 of the garden centres and 2 children's play parks. We are also well catered for in terms of pubs (3!), with beer gardens and play equipment. There are 2 grocery shops, a butcher and deli all within easy walking distance of the house.The 2 local garden centres and farm shops have cafes and lovely food to buy as well as the usual garden centre bits and pieces. We have a small nature reserve in the village and lovely walks along the River Mel. RSPB Fowlmere is a couple of miles away for bird watching or just a quiet walk.
There are many National Trust properties nearby and lots of other interesting places to visit.
Golf is available in the village and nearby on Royston Heath.
The village website is if you would like further information on the village itself.

Our home is an ideal base to visit London and Cambridge. You can walk to the nearest railway station in the neighbouring village (10-15 mins walk) and get a train to London or Cambridge or take one of the local buses if you prefer not to drive. Our recent visitors from Spain spent 2 weeks here without a car and managed to get out and about on public transport!
Cambridge is about 14km away and is a beautiful city to explore, both for it's history and university but also for it's shopping, restaurants and night life.

Trains from Royston (5km) get you into central London in under 45 mins. We often make day trips into the capital with all it has to offer.

You may also like