Secluded and friendly family house

Secluded and friendly family house

Gillian

Last login

Over a month

Member since

January 2012


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 5
2 Bathrooms

About our home

We have two children, boy and a girl, dogs, horses and an outside cat! Our home has 5 bedrooms,4 bathrooms, large kitchen/diner, aga and electric cooking stove, a family/tv room, large drawing room + grand piano, and 12 acres of garden/paddock/woods Big country house with large garden/paddocks and woodland - very private and secluded
Have a croquet lawn suitable for family games as flat and a beautiful secluded heated swimming pool from April until November!
Extensive outside terrace southfacing the whole length of house with table and chairs
Both rooms are south facing onto garden and have a bathroom and also a shower room just opposite for their exclusive use.
The dogs are child friendly and very obedient (working gun dogs) and live downstairs and the cats live outside in the stables!
The horses are 14h (daughter's pony) bay dartmoor/connemara and 15h welsh cob - they are happy living in/out - riding available on assessment accompanied or unaccompanied depending on ability level
There are extensive lawns stretching down to paddocks with large trees (some rare)
Friendly neighbours down road Local Pub and church walkable distance
DVDs available for use and CD's both classical and pop! 2 televisions, one in kitchen and another in tv room. Satellite and nintendo also available.
A well loved family home with modern and classical interior.
Our home is not a 'show home'. It is well lived in and used 365 days but is treated with respect! A 'help yourself' breakfast is always available 24/7! Supper by negotiation only unless you are cooking your own, but we will be using the kitchen too (it is huge!) Local church (church of England)
Local friendly pub with food
Extensive footpath network
Bury St Edmunds is 10 minutes away by car
Bicycles are available for use (not under age 11) approx 6 miles to main town of Bury St Edmunds which is an old market town with a cathedral, 2 weekly markets with local produce and foods, cinema complex and modern shopping centre.
Under an hours drive to Cambridge, the famous university town with historical appeal plus many shops and restaurants etc, or train from Bury available
Newmarket is only 30 minutes away by car and is the centre of English Horse Racing with 2 racecourses and extensive trainers yards and gallops on the Heath. We go racing regularly there and always have a full house so if you wish to stay during race meets please book early to avoid disappointment!
Under the hour from Stanstead airport (just!)
Takes 1hour 20 mins by train to London Liverpool Street on an intercity service that departs twice hourly from Stowmarket (which is a 10 minute drive from house)
Leisure centre facilities in both Bury St Edmunds and Stowmarket (prefer pool in Stowmarket!) are open daily to all
Also under 2hours from the coast ie Woodbridge (Suffolk) 50mins-1hr and Lings Lynn Norfolk/Norwich 1hour 40 mins approximately (traffic pending!) - the coastline is very attractive and quaint dotted with pretty villages, sandy beaches, marinas, large historic family homes (Holkham Hall is open to the public see its website and is 1hr 20mins away) and others...

Our home will be your home too, but not a 5star residence with maid service! We are relaxed and informal and we will be on hand to answer any questions or provide suggestions for things to do. Breakfast is inclusive and you can help yourselves from 7-11! Supper can be provided by arrangement at a minimal cost - you would either join us, or eat separately.

Features

More about us

  1. My husband works as an insurance broker and I am a housewife. We love horse racing and animals. Also classical and pop music. We have 2 pianos in the house.

  2. I am a trained opera singer and now sing on occasion by request.Our son (1 c 5) was a chorister and is now a music scholar at Wellington College - he plays the oboe and piano. Our daughter (13) plays the flute and piano and attends a girls boarding school, Downe House (independent school) - she also loves riding.

  3. We have not done any other exchanges yet since we have only recently joined the club but are looking forward to welcoming like-minded people to our home exchanging with them and making new international friends through these exchanges.

Availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like