Artist's home next to fields on edge of village

Artist's home next to fields on edge of village

Geralyn

Last login

Over a month

Member since

June 2012


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 4
3 Bathrooms

About our home

We would like to spend mid- September to mid-October somewhere quiet and very rural, near the Mediterranean, though not necessarily by the sea. Anywhere in the Provence countryside would be good. A swimming pool would be wonderful. We would be happy to look after your pets.

Our beautiful home is filled with antiques & African artefacts, adjacent to fields with stunning views over the hills. Situated on the scenic Cotswolds escarpment on the edge of North Woodchester village. We have lived here for 33 years. You may contact me at geralynmac @ g mail. com ;)

This is quite a large house but we only use 2 permanent bedrooms, as there are just the 2 of us but there is also a single bed in the master suite dressing room & the sofa in the library (which used to be a bedroom) also converts into a good double bed for occasional use. On the first floor is the master suite with king size bed, panoramic views & bathroom with spa bath & bidet, dressing room & a small study area. On the ground floor there is a drawing room with open log fireplace, the library, smallish guest bedroom with super king size bed (which can split into 2 singles) & bathroom with shower above bath. There is a large fully equipped farmhouse kitchen/dining room with dishwasher, 2 fridges, 2 freezers, gas cooker (with automatic electric timer) & small microwave, etc (I used to run an outside catering business). It leads to a beautiful enormous conservatory with under floor heating. Steps lead down to a laundry/boot room, wine cellar & wet room. There is full gas central heating & a cleaner “Our Pat” who comes once a week but could be flexible. The broadband connection has wifi & includes free unlimited 'phone calls anytime to UK LANDLINES ONLY.

We prefer older children/teenagers only please, no young children. Well behaved pets are welcome. The garden covers 1/3 acre & has a large terrace to the front of the house, a summerhouse & barbecue/braii, wildlife pond, large garage/workshop & many organic fruit trees, etc. Foxes, deer, badgers, squirrels, etc are frequent visitors (we have to protect plants from deer damage!).

Located in the Cotswold AONB (Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty) our lovely village is famous for its Roman villa with the largest mosaic north of the Alps (sadly not uncovered for viewing). Fantastic walking, birding & riding country (stables 6 kms away). The village pub is about 250 metres away & there are a further 3 pubs within 1 kms walk (all serve food). There is a village shop/post office & the nearest supermarket (Sainsburys) is 3 kms. There is an upmarket Waitrose supermarket in Stroud 5 kms away and it will do home deliveries.


The A46 bus route to Bath, Cheltenham, etc is at the bottom of our hill 1/2 km walk. The small town of Nailsworth 5 kms away has a variety of restaurants, coffee shops & amenities & there are a selection of supermarkets in Stroud, which also has a good public Leisure Centre with swimming pools. Local attractions include Woodchester Mansion & Park, Berkeley Castle & Slimbridge Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust. Our local Bristol & Glos Gliding Club 3 kms at the top of the hill provides flying & an excellent Italian cafe.


We are conveniently situated for day trips to Wales, Oxford, Bristol & there is a direct train from Stroud to London (under 2 hours).


We are 61 & 64 year old ex-art teacher & ex-mechanical (aero) engineer, both private pilots, also ran an outside catering business & now property developing & letting. Non-smokers. We love all animals, good with dogs & horses & both passed game ranger courses in SA then recently passed our second Track & Sign course. 3 years ago we ran a conservancy & stud in SA for 6 weeks while the owner was overseas. We have travelled in our safari equipped Land Rover around Southern & East Africa for the past 7 years (currently stored in Kenya) & previously drove from S A to Kenya & back twice. I used to live in Kenya. We usually spend December & April in Africa, due to my arthritis.


We could maybe loan you one of our cars if needed (you would need to cover the additional insurance cost).

Features

More about us

  1. We're are a retried art teacher & mechanical design engineer (Concorde) in our 60s

  2. We love all animals, good with dogs & horses and can look after your pets

  3. We would like to swap from mid-September to mid-October

Availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

Buzzy restaurants
Olive Tree & many others in Nailsworth
Cool bars
Royal Oak pub 3 minutes walk!
Cozy cafés
Guiseppe's Italian @ Gliding Club Airfield 3 kms
Retail therapy
Gloucester Docks
Bit of culture
Berkeley Castle
Walks in the park
Woodchester Mansion (in National Trust parklands)
Spot of exercise
Up onto Selsley Common behind house or view Wales from the air @ the Gliding Club
Day tripping
Slimbridge, Bristol, Oxford or around 2 hours train to London

You may also like