By the sea on Britain's Jurassic Coast at Seaton, Devon, England

By the sea on Britain's Jurassic Coast at Seaton, Devon, England

Jayne

Last login

Over a month

Member since

January 2009


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 5
3 Bathrooms

About our home

This is our holiday home. It is a modern house (built in 2004)with all new furniture and contemporary decor. It is a three storey terrace with a sitting/dining room, kitchen and cloakroom on the ground floor; 2 bedrooms and ensuite bathroom on next floor; one bedroom, a bathroom and spare sitting room/bedroom, which also has a sofa bed in, (great for kids!) on the top floor. We use the house frequently so it does not have just a basic, functional feel to it but is very much a family home.
The kitchen is well equipped with a washer/drier, dishwasher, microwave, large fridge/freezer, gas hob and oven.
The TV in the main sitting room has Sky TV with integral dvd player. Plenty of books and magazines means that you dont have to bring reading matter with you. They include books and guides for the area.
The upstairs sitting room has a TV (although poor reception) with a dvd/video player. DVDs include a variety of family films and rom coms - not much high brow stuff as this is a holiday home after all!
There is a small south facing (a real suntrap) courtyard garden with table and chairs and a hammock. The french windows open out to this courtyard and we often choose to eat out side.
There is a garage as well as a parking space(s).
As from Easter 2011 the house will be available for holiday rentals.


Seaton is a traditional British seaside town. As well as the lovely beach (dogs allowed on some of it all year) which is literally only a minutes walk away, there are fabulous walks directly from the house. As I have replacement knees, I particularly like the fact that there are walks that can be done on totally level ground. One of my favourites is to walk the length of the promenade and end up in the cafe where there are you can sit directly overlooking the sea.
Seaton has its own tramway which is pleasant to travel on and can be used to get to the historic villages of Colyton and Colyford. The journey there takes you alongside the wetlands where there are prime birdwatching areas. The picturesque small towns of Lyme Regis and Sidmouth are also close by and walkable. The cathedral city of Exeter with its large selection of shops and historic buildings, is about 25 miles away. Exeter airport is also very close (although Bristol and Bournemouth airports are also easily accessible). Axminster is the nearest rail station and is a ten minute drive away; it is worth a visit even just for the River Cottage cafe
Public transport is good and the bus stop less than a five minute walk from the house. It would be easy to park the car for the week and just relax - we are not offering a car swap option.
This is a great area for children as well as beaches there are many other child friendly places to visit and things to do;
Crealy amusement park
Bicton Park with a miniature railway and play area
Pecorama has miniature railways and many toy trains
Trams in Seaton
Fossil finding on beaches in Lyme Regis and Charmouth.


I bought the house on my early retirement, on ill health grounds, from my previous position as a Director of Buying for a major fashion retailer. Having always loved the counties of Devon and Dorest, eventually I get to spend a substantial amount of time there. Better still the house is right by the sea - always my ambition. I used to travel extensively world wide, but now I am more than happy to stay in the UK or close by in Europe. My twin daughters aged 14 still enjoy travelling and it is really to allow them to see more of the world that I want to do a holiday swap. Unfortunately, despite my previous travelling I can only speak English and the most basic of schoolgirl French. My daughters are learning French and Spanish but neither of them seem to be great linguists!
The house is suitable for dogs - on the ground floor only - as there is a wooden floor in the sitting/dining room and tiles in the kitchen. Also the garden while small, is totally secure.

Features

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like