South-West London family home very near the Thames

South-West London family home very near the Thames

3 Reviews

Sara

Last login

Today

Member since

December 2013


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 7
2 Bathrooms

About our home

The house is Victorian (120 years old), has 3 floors, is around 1700 square feet and comfortably sleeps 6-7. The kitchen is brand new and the table seats 6-8. It leads out on to our sunny patio garden (approximately 20 feet long and very secure as we are in the middle of a terrace). A new boiler and a pressurised water tank were installed last year so the house is warm and there is plenty of hot water. There is no air conditioning (this is England) but the upstairs bedroom windows can all safely be left open at night if it is hot. The house is lighter and bigger than it appears in the photos - photography is not my strong point.

There are 4 bedrooms upstairs but we use the largest one, across the front on the first floor, as our main living room. The main bedroom is on the second floor (loft conversion) with a king sized bed and an en-suite shower, basin and toilet. On the first floor are two double bedrooms (both with new beds and new mattresses) overlooking the garden and a bathroom with bath/shower and toilet. There is also a single sofa bed (brand new with a good quality mattress) available in the study/living room on the ground floor if needed and a third toilet with a small basin nearby.

The family living room on the first floor has 2 sofas, lots of DVDs, books, jigsaws and games and a 50" flat screen TV with Netflix and a PS4. We have high speed fibre broadband so the Wifi is good in most rooms and a computer is available in one of the first floor bedrooms.

This is not an immaculate show home. I bought the house 3 years ago and am doing it up slowly so some rooms are newly decorated and furnished and others could still do with a lick of paint but it is homely and the beds are comfortable and it is all the more relaxing to stay in as a result!

We have a cat (Smokey) and I would like her to stay in the house so I will only swap with people who like cats and are willing to look after her and feed her (or don’t mind if I pop in and do it if I am in London). She is used to children, never bites or scratches (not people anyway, only my stair carpet) and does nothing much but eat and sleep and purr all day. She only needs feeding when you get up so won’t tie you down.

Non-smokers only please.

I have a weekly cleaner but I would ask that you contribute £25 in cash please when you leave the house for 2 extra hours of her time (for bed changing/ironing).

Please be aware that there can be some noise above the house early in the morning from planes flying in to Heathrow, depending on the direction of the wind so I cannot predict when or how low/loud they will be.

Features

3 Reviews

More about us

  1. I am a Solicitor and have 2 children aged 16 (daughter) and 18 (son). I may be travelling with them or without them (my son is hopefully going to University this autumn).

  2. We enjoy tennis, sailing, cooking, reading and playing family games, sunshine and being by the sea. We have a horse (not in London!) and a cat and also like dogs.

  3. I am open to simultaneous or non-simultaneous swaps during the school holidays or short-term points stays most of the year. We have done several points stays and non-simultaneous swaps (all but one so far in/from our last house) through the site and all have worked really well.

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

We are conveniently located in a safe residential area of traditional Victorian terraced houses in zone 2. At one end of the road is the path along the river Thames for lovely walks and bike rides, including to historic old London pubs.

There are various shops at the other end of the road, including a convenience store, butcher, bakery etc and the house is less than 10 minutes walk from a wide choice of restaurants, cafes and shops, as well as a cinema, on Putney High Street. There is also a park a few minutes from the house with a playground for younger children.

From the pier very nearby you can catch the river bus into the heart of London in the mornings or evenings (only a 35 minute trip) or you can jump on the 22 bus from the end of our road which will take you through Fulham, up the Kings Road, through Knightsbridge and round Hyde Park Corner to Piccadilly Circus and home again (including all night). If you prefer to take the Tube, the nearest station (Putney Bridge) is about a 12 minute walk along the riverside path or road. Notting Hill (for Portobello Market and Kensington Gardens) and South Kensington (for the Science, Natural History and V&A museums) are only a few stops away and Wimbledon is even closer in the other direction.

The area is generally quiet although there can sometimes be some noise from planes overhead (the flight paths change regularly).

Buzzy restaurants
Putney Pies (our winter favourite) and the Half Moon pub (live music every night). Also lots of others on Putney High Street
Cool bars
downstairs at Putney Pies, Tequila Mockingbird
Cozy cafés
Grind, Smugglers Cafe, Social Brew
Retail therapy
the local French bakery for pain au chocolat, croissants and bread and Parson's Nose for excellent fresh meat
Bit of culture
Odeon cinema
Walks in the park
Bishops Park and the river path east into town and west to Hammersmith and Barnes
Spot of exercise
hire bikes nearby by the hour and cycle along the river
Day tripping
Too many to list but I highly recommend the river bus into town from the pier at the end of the road

You may also like