Confortable family home in quiet south Manchester suburb, 10 mins to city centre, countryside nearby

Confortable family home in quiet south Manchester suburb, 10 mins to city centre, countryside nearby

Michele

Last login

Over a month

Member since

January 2009


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 3
1 Bathrooms

About our home

A comfortable 1920s semi detached family home in a quiet, friendly neighbourhood. Contemporary decor with some original features. Centrally heated. Lived in by our family (Mum, Dad and two boys aged 9 and 7, plus two dogs) for the past five years. A relatively small but pleasant enough garden with lawn area, vegetable bed, patio and decked terrace area with garden furniture (wooden table and 6 chairs), barbecue, chimenea (for chilly nights!) and tree-house (low level, can be accessed safely by young children - our's have even slept in there on warm nights!). Three bedrooms upstairs - master double with king sized bed, second double bedroom (with double bed and high bunk above it - would possibly suit slightly older children or teenagers) and a good sized single room with child's cabin bed (suit up to age 12) and toys. Lots of books (especially coookery books for the budding chef), board games, toys and Lego - our boys are big fans!
All mod cons - washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, colour TV (cable) and DVD player, computer with broadband access, CD Player, Nintendo Wii, well equipped modern kitchen (my husband is a chef!) with breakfast table and open plan to the dining room (table extends to seat up to eight people), cosy family sitting room with large sofa and window seat, modern bathroom with power shower. Separate cellar room with access from garden which is used as a games room for the kids. Also a second cellar (accessible from house and garden) which is used for storage, recycling and as work room and is also home to our tumble dryer.
Children's bikes and one adult bike available. Car exchange possible. Large family tent and all camping gear can also be used. We smoke but try to avoid smoking in the house. Only allowed in the kitchen with door open please. Would prefer guests to smoke outdoors, weather permitting (or in cellar).
Pleasant, typical English family home. Great, friendly neighbours. Babysitting available.

While a town in its own right, Stockport is more of a suburb of Manchester and indeed is considered part of greater Manchester. A thriving, suburban town Stockport has all amenities as well as some amazing parks including our favourite, the huge and incredible Lyme Park (think Mr Darcy climbing out of the lake!) and Bramhall Park (with its own tudor hall).
We live in a popular suburb of Stockport about a 15 minute walk from the town centre and 10 minutes walk from the train station. We have a lovely neighbourhood park just two minutes walk away from our house which has three small lakes and a large children's play area as well as hard football pitch - lovely for picnics on nice days. The good array of local shops are just 5 minutes walk away. Cinemas, 50m indoor swimming pool (complete with children's pool and slides), gym, restaurants, high street shops etc just 15 minutes walk. Only 10 minutes by train to the buzzing centre of Manchester - now one of Europe's hottest cities. Great shops (Harvey Nic's, Selfridges, independent boutiques), fashionable Northern Quarter, great bars and restaurants, lots of international arts and music festivals, much friendlier than London (believe me I lived there for many years and much prefer Manchester!). Manchester United fans? We live just a 15 minute drive from Old Trafford and for keen shoppers there's the famous Trafford Centre. Meanwhile the stunning hills of the Derbyshire Peak District are just 20 minutes away by car - perfect for day trips to explore the villages, walk the hills, breathe the air and dine in fantastic country pubs. Also explore farmers' markets and buy amazing local produce. We are also well located for Liverpool (50 minutes), North Wales (1 hour) and the Lake District (1 -1.5 hours). London just two hours by train. Day trips possible.
A fantastic location to enjoy a family-friendly city/ country break. Our house is just a 10 minute drive from Manchester Airport. Taxi/collection easily arranged.

I run my own public relations consultancy working from home. My husband is a chef. Both of us adore cooking (and eating!). We have two lively, friendly and bright young boys - a sports mad nine year old (football, cricket, tennis, swimming, anything really that involves sport in some way) and a Lego and Beavers' (junior cub scout) mad seven year old. They both love their bikes, their Lego, their Nintendo Ds's and Wii and playing board games/cards as well as watching TV and films and of course playing with their friends.
We also have two lively and friendly Jack Russels who keep us busy and as a family we love getting out and about together with the kids and dogs, either to the local parks or further afield exploring the hills and villages of the nearby Peak District at weekends. We camp whenever we can as there are so many wonderful places practically on our doorstep. We also like travelling further afield with our tent, mostly to France, a country that we love - with all that gorgeous food and wine who wouldn't?! I speak enough French to hold down a conversation while on holiday and also basic German.
My hobbies include cooking, reading, walking and being outdoors in the fresh air (garden, park, hills, campsite, beach) with my family. My husband also likes music and is a keen fisherman (we have lots of gear we could lend out).
My husband's parents live nearby and his mother would be available for babysitting - she's very experienced with seven of her own grandchildren who ages range from 22 to 7 and she's a very active and lively 69 year old who is more than capable and lots of fun.
We could also arrange for friends with children to introduce you to the area and give you lots of tips for fantastic days out.

Features

Availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like