Quiet, pretty Ditmas Park, Brooklyn, NYC Apartment

Quiet, pretty Ditmas Park, Brooklyn, NYC Apartment

Gabrielle

 

Joined

Jul 2006


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 2
1 Bathrooms

About our home

We're just about to celebrate our 6th anniversary in our lovely homey apartment. It's a good size for New York living with plenty of room to spread out and relax.

We occupy a two-floor apartment on the 2nd & 3rd floors of a 100-unit coop apartment building. Our neighbors and building attendant are friendly and interesting. There is nice light for our plants and herbs.

There is a large bedroom with queen-sized bed, a nursery with two cribs, and a two-person inflatable mattress that you could set up downstairs quite comfortably. There's a fully stocked kitchen and a wonderful terrace where you can sit and read, or watch the neighborhood pass by.

Our home is kid-friendly.

There is coin-operated laundry in the building.

Features

More about us

  1. We are Aaron (Writer, NYU English lecturer) and Gabrielle (children's book editor and writer), the happiest and luckiest 36 year old newlyweds around. Well, now we've been married for nearly 10 years! We are joyful parents of two 16 month old girls, but they won't travel with us this summer.

    We love to travel, cook and explore. Between the two of us we've been to China, Cuba, Vietnam, Italy, Netherlands, France, Montreal, Switzerland, Mexico,...and a few other spots. We want to go everywhere--alone, with our parents and eventually our two 15 month old girls (but not this trip--they stay with grandma!).

    We have had one wonderful swap in Berlin, and another in Arizona. We have a two handsome orange cats. We'd love guests who could cuddle a bit with them.

    We are looking for:
    1. JUNE 29 - JULY 4, 2012: a place to spend the weekend before the 4th of July on Cape Cod, near Brewster, Mass.

    2. AUGUST 10 - AUGUST 20, 2012: a place to spend a week or so outside of NYC with our parents and kids.

    3. DECEMBER 20 - JAN 5, 2012-2013: a place to spend Christmas in Tucson, AZ.

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Neighbourhood

We're on a quiet residential street in an remarkable New York neighborhood. Beautiful old homes surround our apartment. Quite unusual for the city! It's a perfect place to relax and rejuvenate before exploring and experiencing NYC. We live in Ditmas Park, Brooklyn.

Our neighborhood hosts a mix of cultures and professions. There are Haute American, Filipino, French, Japanese, Middle Eastern, Pakistani, Russian, Thai, restaurants close by, two wonderful organic food restaurants, bagel and coffee shop, a wine shop & wine bar, and a few places to pick up groceries. A library and children's playground are half a block away.

Prospect Park is a 5-minute bike ride away. There you may bike, jog, roller blade, horseback ride, play tennis, soccer, baseball, fly kites, picnic, & etc. We have three bikes and a skateboard you may borrow - don't forget to lock them up!

We are 4 minute walk from subway. 40 minute, $2.25 subway ride to SoHo * 20 minute, $30 cab to SoHo. * 45 minute, $45 (+ tip, usually about $10) cab ride to JFK & LGA airports. * 15 minute subway to Coney Island Beach * 20 minute walk/5 minute subway to Brooklyn Museum of Art, Brooklyn Botanical Gardens and Prospect Park.

10 minutes by subway/$10 by cab are the following Brooklyn spots: * Carrol Gardens & Park Slope -- Great restaurants (Thai, Italian, Mexican, etc); movie theatre, bars, gym, interesting & unusual shopping. * BAM [Brooklyn Academy of Music] for movie, dance, theatre. * SouthPaw on 5th Ave-- dancing, bands.

You may also like