Wooded area. small neighborhood, next to FWY (US 70), metropolitan (Denver) and major ski areas

Wooded area. small neighborhood, next to FWY (US 70), metropolitan (Denver) and major ski areas

Cameron

Last login

Over a month

Member since

January 2008


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 2
2 baths

About our home

Updated 1960 2 BR 1 Den home with large,open great room with cathdral ceiling, recently tiled bath with 2 sinks and delightfully arranged DR with floor to ceiling mirror and hand made frame that covers entire wall. DR overlooks rear deck and rocky, wooded area.
Eclectically furnished with swedish designed easy chairs and couch. glass tables in great room and DR (seats 4-6) and bookshelves, entertainment area that cover entire wall. Plenty of open space in great room and delightful view of forests through spacious window panels in BR.
Great room and DR separated by floor to ceiling, rock fireplace and open into small kitchen with electric stove/oven, fridge and microwave.
Front and rear decks have Weber gas grills on each; car port under front deck. Gas heat with floor vents; washer/dryer, three quarter bath and sitting/sleeping area downstairs with opening to one car garage (used as storage area).
Very friendly, community counscious neighborhood with plenty of space between residences (which number about 25). Small housing areas spread throughout the city of Evergreen.
Residence is near several shopping areas as well as "old town" which has a small lake (fishing, ice skating, hiking), restaurants and art stores.
People are environmentally and health/fitnness conscious; the average age being around 50-60. There are many children in the area and superior educational facilities to accommodate them. Many residents hike, rock climb, snowshoe, and cross country ski locally and downhill and skate board in mountains which are 1-2hours away. There are two fully equipped fitness centers within minutes of residence, one of which contains a climbing wall and olympic sized pool (two lanes) and a wading pool for
children. Senior programs are also available at both centers.
Denver, which offers excellent shopping and dining facilities, major sports arenas, and concerts is only 30 mintes away from the residence.

Evergreen is a relatively small community ( population 48,000 spread over 2 counties. Many residents commute to Denver daily. The community is made up largely of middle to upper middle income families. The cost of living is relatively high as the community is a highly desirable place to live because of the beautiful surroundings and easy and quick access to major ski areas and Denver.
Our immediate community is quite friendly and supportive to one another. Generally speaking, they stay to themselves but are friendly and available in case help is needed by neighbors.
The physical setting is wooded and it could be said that residences are built in small enclave-like areas on fairly large lots.
Wild life is abundant with deer, elk, small game, and on rare occassions, mountain lion and bear (confrontation with these particular animals, however, is rare as they tend to avoid populated areas). House pets, namely dogs, are not allowed to run free as they chase the wild animals, especially deer.
In our particular residence, we have 1 cat and would prefer that those who would share our home limit their pets to cats and other small animals. No dogs are allowed.
Shopping centers are small and contain a number of restaurants, three grocery stores, several liquor stores and, gasoline stations,as well as car repair shops. There are also medical clinics, although most physicians here do not accept medicare/medicare payments. However, there are excellent EMT services as well as medical specialists and hospitals in the Denver area.
Those who would consider this area should realize that the altitude here is approximately 8,000 feet. Most who come from lower elevations should be aware that the altitude will take a while to get used to; those with heart conditions should pay special attention to this fact, particularly if their the symptoms include shortness of breath.
A medical opinion in such cases is advisable.


I am 77 years of age and retired. My wife and I were married in l955 and lived in Germany initially for about a year and a half. We returned in l970 and lived there with our son and daughter for eight years. I was a clinical psychologist for approximately 35 years having recieved my PhD in l966.
Over the past two years,my health has been compromised by a
heart condition that has limited my abilities to take part in outdoor activities to the degree that I once did.
My wife is 75 and is semi-retired as an MSW clinical social worker. She is in good health with the excepton of several non-serious conditions related to the ageing process. She currently volunteers for various agencies that serve the elderly and also consults with the local day care center regarding grants and other administrative issues.
We share interests in several outdoor activities such as camping, hiking and snow shoeing (when my health permits), but my wife's special hobbies are cooking and reading. At one time, we both spoke enough German to get by, but unfortunately, we have lost most of what we learned owing to disuse after leaving Germany in 1978.
No longer being able to manage hiking in hilly areas, my involvement in outdoor photography has dropped off considerably. However, I have resumed my activities in art and calligraphy and water color color painting all of which I also enjoy. In addition, I have an interest in military history, particlarly that having to do with the Civil War and WWII.
My wife and I also share an interests in traveling, reading mystery and spy novels, attending movies and concerts and visiting our children (one of which lives nearby and the other in Port Charlotte, Florida.
Having lived in Colorado long enough to appreciate the winters, which can get quite cold, we are seeking an arrangement which will permit us to spend the coldest times of the year in a warmer climate. The exchange program would allow us to do this.

Features

Dream destinations

Availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like