Family Home 10 miles from Pacific Ocean, 20 miles from San Francisco, 15 miles from Stanford

Family Home 10 miles from Pacific Ocean, 20 miles from San Francisco, 15 miles from Stanford

Vail

Last login

Over a month

Member since

February 2008


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 2
2 baths

About our home

We love our home. It has a living room with fireplace and vaulted ceiling, two bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a small but good kitchen, and a laundry room. We have a nice outdoor deck and the hot tub sits under redwood trees. A large play structure in the backyard is great for the kids. We have bikes for exchange, including a baby trailer. We have wireless access throughout our house, and outdoor speakers for music onto the deck.

We love our area; it's an easy ten minute walk into downtown San Mateo, with coffee shops, restaurants, a great Central Park, movie theaters, and public transportation. San Mateo is only 20 miles south of San Francisco, the world's best city. We are a fifteen minute drive from the Pacific Ocean, and less than a mile from the San Francisco Bay and the Bay Trail.

The farmers market is open twice a week all year long, and takes place less than ten minutes drive from our home. This is where we go for our local, organic produce as well as cheese, fish, and flowers. If you are a food-lover, you just can't imagine the beauty and bounty of this location, with the restaurants of San Francisco also easy to get to.

We are a family of four: Bob is a software developer, Vail is a Unitarian Universalist minister, and we have two children (ages almost 9 and 3 at the time of our hoped-for exchange). We enjoy outdoor activities such as biking and camping together, and love good food and the arts. Our son Zinn (the older of our two) has been in a public Montessori school all his life. He is an amazing athlete and loves being active in addition to Pokemon. Our daughter Denison enjoys being read to, and loves music.

We are looking forward to traveling and immersing ourselves in the local culture while on sabbatical from two demanding jobs. We are looking for a long-term exchange so that we can really settle into a community, explore local foods, and play together as a family.

We have a very close family friend will be joining us along with his two children for some period of our sabbatical time. He is a therapist and finishing training as a nurse. His children are 10 and 8, and are creative, amazing children. We have raised our kids together and are looking forward to this unique opportunity to explore another culture together.

I will download pictures of our home within a few weeks.

Features

Dream destinations

Availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like