Country living, a subway ride to Washington, DC

Country living, a subway ride to Washington, DC

Nina

 

Joined

Jan 2011


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 3
2 Bathrooms

About our home

A modest, beautiful home in a friendly neighborhood outside of Washington, DC. Includes a large deck, gardens in front and back and a stream and woods, part of the property behind. The house gets a lot of sunlight and has beautiful views of the back woods. There are three bedrooms, a master bedroom with a small bathroom and queen size bed; children's room with a toddler bed (5'); an additional bedroom with a double bed. There is a large livingroom and a recently renovated kitchen over looking a "great room" with a 20' celing and small loft above. The loft has a pull-out futon that could sleep another two, though it is an open area. There is a second bathroom. The house has a lot of handmade features and is slightly rustic in that regard.

Takoma Park is a progressive, family friendly city. There are two wonderful parks with playgrounds very close by the house and the neighbors are very nice. The metro (subway) is a one mile walk, car ride or bus ride. There is a very nice natural food co-op in walking distance and the center of town is slightly closer than the metro. There are a few local restaurants, hardware a shop, etc. Once on the metro it takes about 20 minutes to the center of Washington, DC. Most people who work commute to DC from Takoma Park.

We are a family of three. Both parents run nonprofit organizations - Nina works on child labor issues in South Asia and John on renewable energy. Sammy is four years old and loves to play in the park two houses away, as well as the back woods. As a family we like to share outdoor activities like hiking. We have a vegetable garden. We have a lot of good friends, many in our neighborhood, and have a lot of dinner parties with the families. We also like to go out in DC to hear live music or to visit a museum or something. Nina likes to go running and there are several good running/biking trails in Sligo Creek or Rock Creek. John splits wood, which we use in the woodstove in winter to keep the house warm.

Features

Swap availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like