Tour Washington, D.C. by day, dine al fresco at night

Tour Washington, D.C. by day, dine al fresco at night

Norah

Last login

Over a month

Member since

September 2011


Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates


Next
Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available

1

Not available

1

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 4
2 baths

About our home

Our home is a cozy, light-filled bungalow on a lot shaded by old oaks. It has a large screened-in back porch that can be used for meals, reading, yoga, or just relaxing on the hammock and listening to the birds and cicadas. On the first floor is a spacious kitchen, living room, dining room and office with piano. There are two upstairs bedrooms and bath, and another bedroom/tv room in the basement. This house is ideally situated for exploring the D.C. area and then returning for a relaxing evening at home, or to refresh yourselves for an evening out, either in D.C. or in the nearby towns.

The house is situated in a small-town environment on the D.C. border. Takoma Park is a shady community with a large stock of old homes, some restaurants, antique stores, a hardware store, pharmacy, and other small businesses. The metro station is about a 15-minute walk from the house. There are two playgrounds within two blocks, and lots of families with children of all ages. The food coop is at the end of the street and a wonderful walking/biking trail is about 10 minutes walk away. Silver Spring, about 2/12 miles away, has many ethnic restaurants, as well as two movie theatres.

We are a working couple (one environmental policy adviser and one psychologist) with a college-aged son. We have traveled extensively worldwide and for next summer are interested in an exchange in California,the northern United States, or Canada. We like outdoor activities, such as hiking and biking, plus reading, yoga, cooking, and enjoying nature. We hope our son and maybe a friend of his will join us on the exchange, but he doesn't plan ahead, so we don't know if that will work out. (Don't worry, he won't be at home during the exchange!) One of us speaks passable French.

Features

Availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

You may also like