Sleeps 8, great house & neighborhood

Sleeps 8, great house & neighborhood


Last login

This month

Member since

October 2011

  • This is a super-member. They're experienced home swappers or the fastest responders.

  • This member has verified their identity using one of our approved methods

Want to contact this member?

Start your two-week free trial to chat to other members

Send a message

Do you like what you see? Then contact this member to see when their home is available

Enter your preferred trip dates

Choose your preferred way to travel
Add personal message and send

Not available


Not available


Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 8
1 Bathrooms

About our home

Our house is a lovely 1928 bungalow in a wonderful historic neighborhood with sidewalks and tree lined streets. Off street parking.

Outdoors: a front porch (with porch furniture and a porch swing) for drinking your morning coffee and greeting the neighbors walking by. We also have a large (28' x 14') screened back porch for privacy, meals (the dining table seats 8) and just "taking it easy" (feel free to play our guitars, banjo, mandolin or dulcimer if you're a musician). The entire yard is an award winning garden with several seating areas. But don't worry, you won't need to do anything (it's very low maintenance).

Indoors: Main level - There is a cozy living room with a gas fireplace and modern, comfortable furniture. We have a gourmet kitchen with a gas 5 burner stove with warming drawer, an espresso machine, the works. Cooking is fun in this kitchen. The master bedroom (also on the main level) has a adjustable memory foam king sized bed. Each side of the bed adjusts separately. 42" flat screen tv (satellite tv). The second bedroom has a queen sized Murphy bed plus a child's bed suitable for age 5 and younger. There is one full bath on the main level (with a large shower but no tub) and a half bath upstairs. Also on the main level, in addition to the kitchen, living room, bath, master and second bedroom, are a dining room and a tv room with two recliners. Wi-fi is available throughout the main floor.

Upstairs: there are two small bedrooms (with a low ceiling because it's a converted attic) and a half bath. One of the upstairs BRs has two twin beds (see photos) and the other upstairs BR has a futon sofa bed that can sleep two. Our home is lovely and comfortable (everyone says so), and while you're here, you'll feel that your own home is in good hands - which it will be.

Our home is well insulated and has fairly new central heat and air conditioning, so it's very comfortable in any season. Note about children: they are welcome but we should discuss it first. We have a three year old grand-daughter who currently lives with us so there are toys about. Also, we don't allow pets or smoking anywhere on our property. For those who might have mobility problems: there are just three steps (with hand rails) at the front of the house. There are stairs at the back (into the yard), but you can take a path along the side of the house, where there are fewer steps.

We live in the wonderful historic neighborhood of Ardmore. Most of the houses here date from the 1920's. We have porches and sidewalks and tree shaded streets, so it's ideal for walking, jogging and biking. We're within walking distance of a small park (Lockland Park) and a large park (Miller Park), Wake Forest Baptist Hospital (a teaching hospital) and an easy drive (10 minutes or less) to downtown and lots of shopping, restaurants, clubs, etc. Winston Salem has 5 colleges or universities, including Wake Forest and UNC School of the Arts (a performing arts school). WS has several nationally known festivals, such as the River Run Film Festival, the National Black Theatre Festival , the Western Film Festival and the Winston Salem Open (tennis). We have a professional baseball team (with a new stadium), a symphony, an opera company, several professional theater companies, and a 365 acre lake (where you can use our 3 bikes to do the 7 mile loop around the lake) just 15 minutes away. We are less than a 2 hour drive from Charlotte, Asheville, Greensboro and Raleigh, and 5 hours or less from either Washington DC, Charleston SC, Atlanta, the Smokey Mountains, and the Outer Banks on North Carolina's Atlantic coast (where you can deep sea fish, scuba, hang glide, parasail, kayak, and more). We're half an hour from an Amtrak train station that will take you to DC, NYC, Boston and beyond, and less than an hour to other mountains and lakes, with a great many hiking trails within easy access. Really, it's an ideal location. Our city is often listed as one of the best places to live or retire in the USA.

We are retired, healthy and active (bikes, kayaks, hiking, yoga, non-smoking, vegetarian). We speak a little Spanish and both play guitar. My wife also quilts and does other crafts - you will see her work all around the house. We both love to cook.
We currently have custody of a 3 year old, so we can only travel at present within a 5 hour drive of Winston Salem. We expect that to change by summer of 2019. At that time, we would love to go to the UK (especially, but really almost anywhere). Right now, we can do short weekend exchanges with homes within driving distance, but we won't be able to do full exchanges until summer of 2019 because of our grand-daughter. When we are able to do long term exchanges, we do not want to be in an isolated area and we don't like cold weather. We would consider a long term exchange - anything from a week to two months would be wonderful - depending on the location. We would prefer to be able to walk or take public transportation to restaurants, galleries, shops, day trips, etc. but we would consider renting a car. Be aware that you will need to rent a car in Winston Salem (or almost anywhere in the US). We might also be available for non-simultaneous swaps, long term swaps or weekend swaps, depending on the locations and situations. Even short hospitality exchanges (4 days or fewer).


More about us

  1. Non smokers. Because we presently have custody of a 3 year old, at the moment we can only travel within 5 hours of Winston Salem. We expect that to change within the next year.

  2. we can use Points or swap

  3. Our home if filled with art, crafts and musical instruments


Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?


Buzzy restaurants
Sweet Potatoes
Retail therapy
Reynolda Village
Walks in the park
Miller Park
Day tripping
Biltmore, Asheville, Charlotte, Pilot Mountain, Salem Lake

You may also like